I Adore Shutters

sk3216-step-5

My first step is to block in the vine draping over the tile roof. I use mixes of Alizarin Crimson + Magenta + White for the blossoms while Viridian Green + White makes the foliage.

sk3216-step-6

After blocking in the vines the tile roof is painted with thick, textured brushstrokes. Then the shadows on the building are painted with several mixes of MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + White and Ultramarine Blue + Cadmium Orange + MUD + White. Even though the building is white the parts in the sun are still made with light shades of White + MUD and White + Ultramarine Blue + Cadmium Orange.

sk3216-step-7

I’ll come back later when the walls are drier and add highlights of pure White.

sk3216-step-8

I’m not sure what it is about shutters that call to me, they just seem so cozy and quaint. These are painted with mixes of Pthalo Blue + a bit of Cadmium Orange + White. My arm is braced against the mahl stick to steady my hand as I delineate the edges of the individual boards making up the shutter.

sk3216-step-9

The same mixtures are used for the door and windows.

sk3216-step-10

A cute, bronze lantern nestles next to the door. At this point the blue tiles on the platform under the shuttered window are just washed in with Ultramarine Blue. I’ll come back and finish them when I do the floor. Don’t forget, you can enlarge any of the pictures by clicking on the image. And always feel free to ask questions, the main reason I write this blog is to help my fellow artists. HAPPY PAINTING!

 

One Response to “I Adore Shutters”

  1. kemmy3 Says:

    Thank you very much for sharing your painting steps and stories with others Mikki!

Leave a Reply

