Rhodochiton

sk3216-step-12

That’s a tongue twister! And to tell you the truth I don’t have a clue how to say it! But the common name for this beautiful plant cascading over the roof is Bell Vine! The flowers are actually shaped like little bells! I use the corner of a small Bright (square) brush to delineate the individual blossoms. The leaves are much like the sweet potato vine I love to paint, Heart shaped!

sk3216-step-13

Next we’ll lay the pavers! The entire surface of the courtyard floor is covered, establishing the light and shadow pattern.

sk3216-step-14

After making perspective lines between the tiles, I draw the horizontal crevices into the wet paint with a fine liner brush.

sk3216-step-15

Sunlight catches the leading edge of the individual tiles. So they are accentuated with a lighter shade of the floor color.

sk3216-step-16

I think this wrought iron plant stand is so cool. Wish I could find one like it for our garden!

sk3216-step-17

All of the terra cotta containers are completed, using the same mixes as the tiles. Some of the pots are made darker by adding some MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) into the mixtures. Another detail I especially like is the brick window sills. That’s all for today. Hugs,

4 Responses to “Rhodochiton”

  1. Rosie Barnett Foshee Says:

    Beautiful!

  2. Carolyn Bump Says:

    I sure would like to sit in the cool shade in the courtyard and sip on spearmint iced tea with you!

  3. Patricia Ann Ingram Says:

    You make it look soooooo easy. 🙂 May I ask how long you have been painting and if you went to school to learn some of what you know? I know you and your husband must have shared secrets painting tips too. May God Bless.

    • Mikki Senkarik Says:

      Hi Patricia,
      I’ve drawn all my life and have a Master’s Degree in Medical Illustration. When I met Jack, a master portrait artist and State Artist of Texas, he taught me to paint in oils. I could draw very well but painting was a horse of another color. Jack sold my first painting in 1990. He’s taught me everything I know. He was self-taught, traveled to art museums all over the world and studied the Masters. We don’t believe in “Secrets”; our mission is to share what we’ve learned though years of experience with artists everywhere. Even though Jack went to Heaven in July, I plan to continue his legacy of generosity. So please feel free to ask questions. One of the main reasons I write this blog is to help fellow artists. Too many artists are secretive, we want to change that and encourage others to do the same. HAPPY PAINTING, Mikki

Leave a Reply

