Return to Santa Fe

 

sk3416-step-1

Starting on a new piece for our Santa Fe gallery today. My rough sketch is shown above. The composition is built around two items that tickled my imagination as I was flipping through our reference files. If you’d like to see the picture larger just click on the image.

cut-sunflowers-in-basket-5

A basket of Sunflowers, freshly picked from the garden and……

kittty-and-container-of-blue-flowers

an old, metal watering can.

sk3416-step-2

To begin drawing the architecture on the canvas I use a T-Square resting on the top edge of the gallery wrapped canvas to make my up and down lines.  This way the building starts out straight. Since the piece will be painted around the sides the canvas is attached to cardboard, making it easier to handle the wet painting. To see how this is done CLICK HERE.

sk3416-step-3

I liked the blue tiles in my last painting so much I decided to add some here lining the base of the fountain.

sk3416-step-4

The watering can and basket of Sunflowers are sketched in next. A brush dipped in a thin wash of MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + Liquin is used. I decided to turn the watering can the opposite direction from my reference. I want the spout to point anyone looking at the piece toward the Sunflowers and distant courtyard. If it were the other way the spout would send the viewer’s gaze right out of the painting.

sk3416-step-5

Morning Glories draping down the wall of the courtyard are washed in with Magenta + Liquin. All of the flowers are labeled and our sketch on the canvas is DONE.

Before I let you go I have to share this video with you. Make sure to turn on the sound. I laughed so hard I almost fell out of my desk chair. I love horses and also am hopeless at backing up a trailer. Of course Jack could handle a trailer perfectly; I know he is laughing. SO ENJOY. I must warn you though, don’t eat or drink anything while you are watching!

If you would like to receive an email every time I publish a new post please feel free to subscribe to my blog. CLICK THIS LINK and scroll to the upper right side of the page. You will see a heading EMAIL SUBSCRIPTIONS. Just enter your email address and click the button “Sign me up!”  It’s easy. And if you enjoy my blog please CLICK the FaceBook LIKE Button. As we say in Texas, “Much Obliged!

4 Responses to “Return to Santa Fe”

  1. Christopher Newell Says:

    I am crying now…the trailer–Horse laugh is as good as it gets…because I am useless with a trailer! I actually dumped a friends boat off his trailer….and I have a request…Mikki, can I paint your sunflowers and your kitty in oils on my special birch panels? Good thing I can paint better than I can back up a trailer. I have Jack to thank for that. Hugs! Christopher

  2. Alice Cox Says:

    Oh, that horses laughing commercial is soooo funny!! I have trouble backing up a pickup truck even without a trailer. Thanks for sharing it!

  3. Bob Ragland Says:

    You are very instructive-BRAVO!!!!!

Leave a Reply

