A Stately Red Barn

sl3716-step-18

I love barns, especially red ones. And this is a beauty. A mix of Cadmium Red Deep + a little bit of MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + White is used for the sunlit part. Cadmium Red Deep + MUD + Alizarin Crimson makes the shadows.

sl3716-step-19

My wrist is braced against the mahl stick to steady my hand as I paint the cupula. Would you like to know about my mahl stick? CLICK HERE to find out.

sl3716-step-20

There is a weathervane with a bull on top of the cupola. My hand rests on the unpainted part of the canvas to delineate the fine detail. If you’d like to enlarge this or any of the other pictures just click on the image.

sl3716-step-21

The windows have white casings; it’s a challenge to get them all the same. My hands are braced a little differently on the mahl stick to pull the horizontal lines.

sl3716-step-22

My collector specifically asked for a tractor in the painting. He said, “You can’t have a red barn without a John Deere!” 

sl3716-step-23

The distinctive yellow and green John Deere tractor glows in front of the red barn.

sl3716-step-24

The last thing we’ll do is close the huge doors on the front of the barn. Thanks for following along today. AND… always feel free to ask questions. One of the main reasons I write this blog is to help fellow artists. HUGS,

3 Responses to “A Stately Red Barn”

  1. Paintbrush1984 Says:

    Hi Mikki, wanted to know if you have a photograph of the barn that your are referring to? The shadows are so perfect – the color and the length. How do you know how the shadows should be?

    • Mikki Senkarik Says:

      Madhurima,
      Yes, I do have great photographs and am using them for reference. Normally I would show the pictures. But I haven’t posted the photos in my blog because this painting is a surprise birthday present. We don’t think the recipient reads the blog but we don’t want to get too specific with details just in case she does! If she saw the photos she’d know something was up! Hope this helps. Hugs, Mikki

  2. pierceclark Says:

    Thank you for being faithful in your blog posts. I have learned so much.

    Hugs back to you!

    Donna

    Donna Pierce-Clark http://www.donnapierceclark.com

    Sent from my iPad

    >

Leave a Reply

