Warm Welcome

sl3716-step-48

Butter Yellow Coreopsis are blocked in with my usual sequence of Flowers First, Leaves Last. #1. The blossoms are made with mixtures of Lemon Yellow + MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) and Lemon Yellow. #2. Leaves are mixes in different proportions of Pthalo Blue + Lemon Yellow.

sl3716-step-49

Heart shaped foliage of Sweet Potato Vine cascades out from under the Coreopsis. Please remember as you read through my blog, you can enlarge any of the pictures by clicking on the image.

sl3716-step-50

The delicate petals of the daisy like Coreopsis are highlighted with a mixture of Lemon Yellow + White. The corner of a medium sized Bright (square) brush is used to apply the thick texture.

sl3716-step-51

Oh my, a Painted Lady Butterfly has landed on the soft yellow flowers! What a fun surprise for our collector.

sl3716-step-52

Permanent Rose Angelonia are now planted in the front container, they will nestle in among the Nasturtiums.

sl3716-step-53

After blocking in the fragrant Nasturtium blossoms with mixes of Alizarin Crimson + Cadmium Red Light and Cadmium Red Light + Cadmium Orange, the distinctive round leaves are added. They are formed with a Bright (square) brush that I twist, or twirl, to make the circular shape.

sl3716-step-54

The long, dangling stems and vines are drawn with a fine liner brush. If you would like to know more about the brushes I use CLICK HERE.

sl3716-warm-welcome-34x42Warm Welcome   34 inches tall x 42 inches wide

The colorful flowers and lanterns issue an inviting, Warm Welcome to anyone visiting the beautiful red barn at the Southern Comfort Cattle Company. This has been a fun challenge, I appreciate you following along. Hope everyone is staying warm. To give a little extra help to those in the Frozen Tundra of the North here is a WARM TEXAS HUG,

10 Responses to “Warm Welcome”

  1. Peggy and Leon Says:

    absolutely gorgeous!!!

  2. Paintbrush1984 Says:

    This is one of the best ones! I love the effect of the sunshine hitting the gravel road.

  3. Terri Hansen Says:

    That is the prettiest Barn painting I have ever seen! You do such beautiful work!

  4. Jeana Says:

    Fabulous, especially entrance flowers with the fence leading you to that comfy barn

  5. Angelica Says:

    So beautiful and inviting! No doubt this will be a very treasured painting for this family and a gift his wife will never forget! I love everything about it…so MUCH detail. The butterflies are wonderful too. Thank you for sharing Mikki.

  6. Terri El Farkh Says:

    You are such a versatile artist with a gift for creating, not only beautiful locations, but a feeling of warmth and belonging in your paintings. I absolutely love it and thanks for sharing your vision and process.

  7. janice mintz Says:

    Dear Mikki, I follow all your paintings and I think this may be my favorite so far…it is just fabulous….I especially like your flowers….I always like the flowers that you do in all your pictures. I just keep looking at that fence and all the detail….you are an amazing artist. I have one of your large paintings from a long time ago….I bought in Napa Valley…of the vineyards…I think it was from a gallery that you had trouble with…I wish I could trade it for this painting….! your admirer, Janice Mintz

  8. joanieford Says:

    I love watching you paint! You are simply amazing and so very talented. The warm welcome painting is really a treasure! Thanks you for all your sharing.

  9. Ray Dane Says:

    This is a beautiful painting. I really enjoyed watching this one come to life.

Leave a Reply

