A Santa Fe Chapel

si2716-embracing-peace-14x14

We’re headed back to Santa Fe today. One of my collectors saw a picture of this painting on our Santa Fe gallery’s website. She loved it but the painting had already sold. So Jeana commissioned me to do a similar piece for her to give as a Christmas gift to her brother and his wife.

sl3816-step-1

Since the piece will be painted on the sides of the gallery wrapped canvas I attach it to a piece of double ply cardboard. If you’d like to see how this was done CLICK HERE. To sketch the straight, upright lines of the bench and chapel door I use a T-Square balanced on the top edge of the canvas. 

sl3816-step-2

Jeana asked me to add a few extra elements to make the painting more personal. She liked the turquoise cross with a heart in another piece I did, Linger A While. We’ve also included her brother’s kitty on the bench. The Lilac Tree is washed in with Magenta + Liquin. This is just to cover the white of the canvas, I’ll come back later and paint it with opaque oils.

sl3816-step-3

The steps winding up the hill to the chapel are now drawn in with a thin wash of MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + Liquin.

sl3816-step-4

After completing the sketch of my basic plan I begin painting. The sky is done first, then the mountain in the distance. It provides a nice, cool dark that will accent the sunlit adobe wall.

sl3816-step-5

The Lilac blooms are now blocked in with mixtures of Magenta + Dioxazine Purple + White and Magenta + White.

sl3816-step-6

Leaves of the Lilac are made of Pthalo Blue + Cadmium Orange + Cadmium Yellow Medium + White.  The golden adobe wall is painted with mixes of Cadmium Orange + a tiny bit of Ptahlo Blue + MUD + White. More MUD is added for the shadows. 

sl3816-step-7

The turquoise cross is Pthalo Blue + White, the heart……….pure Cadmium Red Light.

sl3816-step-8

That finishes us up for this session. I want to say THANK YOU for all of your wonderful comments on the barn painting, Warm Welcome. It was fun to do and I’m glad you enjoyed watching it come together. Big APPRECIATIVE Hugs,

8 Responses to “A Santa Fe Chapel”

  1. Patrice Kelly Says:

    Okay where did the kitty go?

    >

  2. Andrea H Says:

    Do you ever rest? Wow, one painting after another.

    • Mikki Senkarik Says:

      Hi Andrea, I have a bunch of Christmas commissions to do! I’m extremely blessed as an artist. My galleries need paintings and I still have lots of commissions to paint. As much as I love painting, it’s my job. I go to work at my easel. If I don’t paint, I can’t pay the bills and buy food for our kitties 🙂 Painting has been a GODSEND, I don’t know how I would have been able to make it these last few months without this connection to Jack. He taught me to paint, even though he’s now in Heaven I can hear his voice in my ear with all of his Whiteisms! I pray you have a Blessed Christmas, Mikki

  3. phyllis@santafeartcollector.com Says:

    You’re a peach Mikki! Love,Phyllis

    >

  4. LouAnn Lubben Says:

    I love your work! I’m self taught and returning to oils a very long break. Do you have a blog on red tile roofs? I travel in Italy and want to paint the roofs. Thank you for sharing your talent!

    • Mikki Senkarik Says:

      LouAnn, I appreciate your kind words. I haven’t done a blog on painting red, tile roofs. I obviously need to. I use mixes in various proportions of MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + Cadmium Orange. White is added for the tiles in the sun. I also make a couple of mixtures of Ultramarine Blue + White and Pthalo Blue + Cadmium Orange + White. I paint the entire roof area with the various colors, just smoosh them together. Then I come back with a mix of MUD + Liquin to indicate the lines between the rows of tile. I do this impressionistically, just here and there. Using the same mix I make the ends of the tiles at the edge of the roof where it overhangs the side of the building. Hope this helps. Next time I do a piece with a red tile roof I’ll show the steps. Merry Christmas and Big Hugs, Mikki

  5. LouAnn Lubben Says:

    Nikki thank you very much for your response. It truly makes sense and I love your MUD! Thanks again and happy painting!

Leave a Reply

