A Sweet Golden Retreiver

emma

Today we’re starting on a portrait of a sweet Golden Retriever named Emma. Isn’t she beautiful?

sk3616-emma-step-1

My first step is to lightly draw the darling baby up on the canvas with pencil. Please remember as you read through my blog, you may click on any of the pictures to see them larger.

sk3616-emma-step-2

Using a brush dipped in a thin oil wash of MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + Liquin I begin sketching in Emma’s silky coat.

sk3616-emma-step-3

After establishing the basic values on her face I wash in Emma’s bright eyes.

sk3616-emma-step-4

She’s all sketched up and patiently waiting for our next step, the background.

sk3616-emma-step-5

I like the way Emma looked with the green trees behind her. So here are my color mixtures: #1. Sap Green + a touch of Pthalo Blue + Ivory Black + a bit of White. #2. Sap Green + a little Pthalo Blue + White. #3. Mix #2 + additional White. #4. Extra White is added to mixture #3. #5. Mix #4 + even more White.

sk3616-emma-step-6

The sun is coming into the portrait from the upper right. I make the background on that side darker so the light areas on Emma will really be dramatic.

sk3616-emma-step-7

After completing the background I’ve done a little work on the left side of her body to experiment with color mixes for her soft fur. I’ll tell you what they are in our next session. See you then! If you would like to receive an email every time I publish a new post please feel free to subscribe to my blog. CLICK THIS LINK and scroll to the upper right side of the page. You will see a heading EMAIL SUBSCRIPTIONS. Just enter your email address and click the button “Sign me up!”  It’s easy. And if you enjoy my blog please CLICK the FaceBook LIKE Button. As we say in Texas, “Much Obliged!

 

 

Leave a Reply

