Desert View


sa0117-step-23

Christmas and New Year’s are over, time to get back to the easel! Work today begins on the Saguaro Cactus standing sentry in the background. I’ve added Cadmium Orange and Cadmium Yellow Medium to the mixtures leftover from the Bougainvillea foliage. I recycle a lot of my paint in this manner, adding other colors to make new ones! Resting my wrist on the mahl stick steadies my hand as I delineate the ribs on the cacti arms.

sa0117-step-24

Chamisa nestles at the base of the Saguaro. White and Pthalo Blue, mixed in with colors remaining from the stately cactus, produces the soft greens. The addition of MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) into the paint used for the distant bluffs makes mixtures for the foreground rocks. Combining my leftover colors into new mixes helps to save paint.

sa0117-step-25

Needle like stickers on the Prickly Pear Cactus catch the sunlight. Notice how I brace my left hand on an unpainted area of the canvas. This provides a steady support for my right hand as I paint the tiny spines. Please remember, you may click on any of the pictures to see them larger.

sa0117-step-26

Salvia completes our desert view, Magenta and White were added into the mixes from the Wisteria blooms! We’ll start on the courtyard in our next session. Thank you for following along today, hope to see you again soon! HUGS,

 

5 Responses to “Desert View”

  1. philcullendeecullen Says:

    I love this one! Is it spoken for? Interested…..please respond. Thank you.

    • Mikki Senkarik Says:

      Hi Phil, HAPPY NEW YEAR! I’m so glad you like the piece I’m working on. It is a commission. BUT…I can certainly do a similar painting for you. That way we can make it the size that fits your space. Also make any changes you’d like, possibly add some of your fur babies! It will be fun to collaborate with you again! Just email me at Senkarik@Senkarik.com HUGS, Mikki

  2. cgbell7773@gmail.com Says:

    Wonderful😘❤👏

  3. Deanna M Zanoni Says:

    Can you make this in a smaller size? I love the desert view! If so what sizes? It caught my eye right away. But I am running out of wall space. Wishing you and Jack a wonderful New Year!
    Deanna Zanoni

Leave a Reply

