BRRRRR!!!!!!!

sa0317-step-1

I’m beginning a new painting for our gallery in Santa Fe, they’ve got some empty spots on my wall that need to be filled. I thought it would be fun to do a snow piece since Santa Fe has a few more months of winter left. ME? I personally am ready for summer. We’ve had two nights of 21 degrees, one cold snap is certainly enough for my southern blood! My rough, and I mean rough, sketch is shown above. Over the years I’ve developed my own thumbnail shorthand and am able to decipher the design. If this was a commission the sketch would be much more finished.  You can click on the picture to see it larger. With the fireplace next to the easel, the mantle is a perfect place to put my sketch to easily refer to.

sa0317-step-2

The team and sleigh are the main focus of the piece, their placement is vitally important to the composition. They are first sketched up on the canvas in pencil.

sa0317-step-3

Now the team is properly in place I begin drawing the landscape around them. I’ve decided to add a dog, cavorting in the snow ahead of the sleigh coming up the hill.

sa0317-step-4

From this high vantage point we can look out at the distant mountains and adobe homes on the hillside.

sa0317-step-5

What would a sleigh ride be without a couple of happy kids, laughing all the way?

sa0317-step-6

The horses are washed in with a thin oil mix of MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + Liquin. I’ve used the same mix to draw in the rest of the painting.

sa0317-step-7

I felt the niche with the tile on the adobe wall along the road was too busy, pulling attention away from the distant landscape, dog and horses. So I’ve replaced it with a gate. My basic plan is washed in on the canvas, we’ll begin painting in our next session! If you would like to receive an email every time I publish a new post please feel free to subscribe to my blog. CLICK THIS LINK and scroll to the upper right side of the page. You will see a heading EMAIL SUBSCRIPTIONS. Just enter your email address and click the button “Sign me up!”  It’s easy. And if you enjoy my blog please CLICK the FaceBook LIKE Button. As we say in Texas, “Much Obliged!

 

5 Responses to “BRRRRR!!!!!!!”

  1. Gittel Fuchs Says:

    I love how you make it look so simple! Happy new year Mikki

  2. Texas Says:

    I LOVE this sketch! You do such beautiful paintings!

  3. bonnie austin Says:

    It’s been 8 to 12 degrees here in Maine for 4 days. BRRRR is right!

  4. Christopher Newell Says:

    Mornin Mikki, I do not want to steal your brush time ~ but 21 degrees got my attention…you remember Florida winters….39 in the morn and 76 by 1 pm. Anyhow I had to give you a snowy holler and tell you I found a smile when the cardinal flew into the painting. Be Well…Hugs! Chris

  5. Alice Cox Says:

    Although this painting is in the sketch stage, I can already hear the dog’s joyful barks, the jingling sleigh bells, and the children’s squeals and laughter!

Leave a Reply

