Painting a Sunset Sky

2017-1-10-morning-sky-2

God knew I was going to be painting a colorful sky today so he gave me one this morning! Isn’t this beautiful, it took my breath away when I stepped out into our garden. I think Our Lord let Jack have a hand in this one. There is no way I can come close to God’s paintbrush, but He certainly helped me decide on my color mixes.

sa0317-step-8

The mixes are #1. Ultramarine Blue + MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + White. #2. MUD + Alizarin Crimson + White. #3. Alizarin Crimson + a touch of Cadmium Red Light. #4. Cadmium Orange + a little Cadmium Red Light + White.

VIDEO! Painting the sky.

sa0317-step-9

The sun is setting just behind the tree on the left. So I add a few strokes of Cadmium Orange + Cadmium Yellow Medium + White along the horizon next to the tree.

sa0317-step-10

The snow on the distant mountains is painted with a mix of White + Ultramarine Blue. I don’t use pure White, I’m saving that for the highlights on the snow in the foreground. 

sa0317-step-11

The darker parts of the mountains are made with various combinations of Ultramarine Blue + MUD + a tiny amount of Cadmium Orange + White. The Cadmium Orange dulls the Blue-Purple, making it drop into the distance. I don’t use much, just a “tich” as Jack would say. I’ll be working on the Santa Fe adobe buildings in our next session. Hope to see you then. HUGS,

5 Responses to “Painting a Sunset Sky”

  1. smart281 Says:

    REALLY GLAD you’re sharing this with us. I have MILLIONS of great Colorado sunset and sunrise photos I’ve taken and would like to paint some of them. Love your work!

  2. Rachel Williams Says:

    Thank you for giving all the glory to
    our merciful God. You are very bold.

  3. kirby jonas Says:

    This is coming together so nicely. Mikki, you are one of the greatest gifts of my life, and it is magical to see you bring these things to the canvas with so much life. I hope my wife and I can some day meet you in person!

    • Mikki Senkarik Says:

      Kirby, Maybe you can come to our Collector Event in Santa Fe on September 2! You’d get to visit “The City Different” as well as let me give you both a HUG in person. Mikki

  4. Phyllis Says:

    Sunrises and sunsets are beautiful here in NM and prove the greatest artists is Almighty God. I’m lovin this painting!

Leave a Reply

