Pthalo Turquoise Blue

sa0317-step-16

The wall along the road is painted with mixtures left over from the distant adobe buildings. I’ve mixed in a little bit of Cadmium Orange and MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) to make the wall darker and warmer.

sa0317-step-17

I do use a few special colors now and then that I just can’t mix with our Double Primary Palette. Today I’ve pulled out some REMBRANDT Pthalo Turquoise Blue for the gate. My wrist rests against the mahl stick to steady my hand as I drag the lines indicating the edges of the individual boards. If you would like to learn more about our Color Mixing System CLICK HERE.

sa0317-step-18

A little of the Pthalo Turquoise Blue reflects down into the snow directly below the gate. Please remember as you read through my blog, you can click on any of the pictures to see them larger.

sa0317-step-19

Chamisa is seen everywhere in the high desert of New Mexico. We’re going to let a big clump grow beside the gate. The foliage is first blocked in with mixes of Cadmium Yellow Medium + a little Cadmium Orange + MUD + White. I’ve also added a little of the gate color into some of the mixes. 

sa0317-step-20

Next some of the foliage is covered with clumps of snow.

sa0317-step-21

The branches of the Chamisa are drawn into the snow with a fine liner brush. This is done wet-into-wet, which makes it much easier to pull smooth lines.

sa0317-step-22

I’d like to take a moment to say THANK YOU for all of your really neat comments. I’ve got the absolute best followers! I’ll be working on finishing the snow in our next session. Hope you’ll come watch! HUGS,

7 Responses to “Pthalo Turquoise Blue”

  1. Joye DeGoede Says:

    I love the enthusiasm in this s painting!

  2. DailyGs Says:

    I’ve only been painting a short while and have just negun to try oils. Love watching you paint! ♥

  3. Peggy and Leon Says:

    Jack would like this!!!!!

  4. Janet Zeh Says:

    I love the colors in this one. You are capturing a winter day perfectly Mikki! 🙂

  5. DARLENE judson Says:

    I really look forward to your post. You are an amazing artist. I love everything you paint. Can’t wait to see this one finished. Thanks so much for sharing your beautiful work.

  6. Gittel Fuchs Says:

    Just beautiful!!

  7. rpillai2012 Says:

    Dear Mikki,

    This is such a great composition and wonderful painting!

    Best wishes,

    Renuka Pillai

Leave a Reply

