Winter’s Magic

sa0317-step-29

Let’s get to that joyful pup! Do you think he likes cavorting through the snow? I can almost hear his excited yips. Please keep in mind, as you read through my blog you may click on the pictures to see them larger.

sa0317-step-30

He’s got the snow flying in every direction. A ray of sun slipping through the snow covered pine illuminates his head and catches the spray of powder.

sa0317-step-31

Turning to the pair of Bays pulling the sleigh, I start with their legs. While the paint is still wet I pull some of the color underneath the horses into the Ivory Black. This gives the impression of the snow being kicked up.

sa0317-step-32

The sleigh is painted with mixes of Cadmium Red Deep + Alizarin Crimson. We have a Navajo Rug thrown over the back of the couch in our studio. Sissie, one of our rescue kitties, curls up there while I paint. I’ve used the design for reference on the wrap keeping the riders warm on this chilly sunset ride! 

sa0317-step-33

The horses are painted with mixes in various combinations of MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + Cadmium Orange + a little Cadmium Red Light  + White. If you would like to know more about our Double Primary Color Mixing System that Jack developed CLICK HERE.

sa0317-step-34

I love the adornments found on harnesses. We’ve collected pictures of them over the years. I decided to add these heart shaped ones to the brow bands of the horse’s bridles.

sa0317-step-35

“Jingle Bells, Jingle Bells, Jingle All The Way.” It just wouldn’t be a proper sleigh ride without jingle bells!

sa0317-step-37

A few of you mentioned that our driver looked a little like Jack. Well….you are absolutely right. I found a picture of him in just the right pose. He’s modeled for me in several paintings over the years, my hero has always been Cowboy Jack. 

sa0317-winters-magic-20x24Winter’s Magic     20 inches tall x 24 inches wide

Delighted laughs, the jingle of sleigh bells, happy barks, hoof beats in the snow and the chip, chip, chip of a cardinal. All add up to make the music of “Winter’s Magic.” Thank you again for every one of your wonderful comments. You all are the best! Lots of Warm Hugs,

 

18 Responses to “Winter’s Magic”

  1. Bill Says:

    A happy painting!

  2. Ray Dane Says:

    Mikki, this is so nice. I love it. Is there anything you cannot paint?

  3. susanajardine Says:

    I love this painting, Mikki. And the sleigh driver sure does look like your Wonderful Jack…your Guardian Angel. Beautiful painting. ❤

  4. Alice Cox Says:

    Hi Mikki: there are so many elements in this painting that make it a joyful one! I like how you have Cowboy Jack as the sleigh driver, and the horses’ heads starting to turn towards the viewer. It makes me feel like the sleigh will come in my direction and maybe I’ll get to ride in it! Very well done.

  5. Angelica Says:

    So beautiful Mikki! Every detail is perfection…as always your paintings speak to our hearts.

  6. DailyGs Says:

    I thought I was the only one who thought the driver looked like Jack. 🙂 I love everything about this painting! Thanks for taking me along again!

  7. joanieford Says:

    Love your painting Mikki. I watch you silently everyday, as I am sure many do. Just wanted to say thank you for all the joy you give to the world.

  8. bonnie austin Says:

    I love it! The dog just makes it the best.

  9. phyllis@santafeartcollector.com Says:

    It’s beautiful Mikki! Hugs,Phyllis

  10. Ed Mac Says:

    Beautiful job, Mikki. And yes, that’s Jack!

  11. pierceclark Says:

    Just beautiful, as always!!!

    Donna Pierce Clark Fine Art NEWSLETTER http://donnapierceclark.com/email-newsletter WEBSITE http://www.donnapierceclark.com

    FROM GLORY TO GLORY (2 Corinthians 3:18)

  12. Betty McLean Henderson Says:

    Love that you have added Jack to this painting.

  13. Jody Says:

    I saw Jack in the painting – beautiful! I love the way you brought the pup to life cavorting in the snow. Thanks!

  14. Shirley Says:

    The low angled clouds add great aerial perspective as do the diagonals coming forward. The painting has a warm feeling even though there is a lot of snow! Love the way you play the warms against the cools. I was searching your site for some instruction and discovered that you have just passed an anniversary of writing in WP since 1/11/10. Congratulations! Your work ethic is admirable and thank you for setting an awesome example. I appreciate you very much.

    • Mikki Senkarik Says:

      Shirley,
      Thank you for your comments. I love your analysis. I had totally forgotten about starting the blog in January. Can’t believe I’ve been posting for 7 years. My, oh my! I appreciate you following along. HAPPY PAINTING! Mikki

  15. Nadya Says:

    It is beautiful!

  16. janis Rhodes Says:

    Jack is Honored by your thoughtful inclusion in this Beautiful Scene
    Of Winter in Santa Fe. Love the lovely snow moment brought to life by a Most amazing Artist.

Leave a Reply

