Adobe and Stone

 

sa0517-step-6

We’ll begin work by “constructing” the adobe walls. My mixes are shown above. #1. Three shades of White + MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + Cadmium Orange + a little more Ultramarine Blue. #2. Two mixtures of MUD + Cadmium Orange + Ultramarine Blue + White. #3. Mix #2 with more MUD mixed in. #4. MUD + a bit of mix 3 + White. #5. Ultramarine Blue + a touch of Cadmium Orange + White. #6. A couple of mixes of #4 + additional White.Β 


sa0517-step-7

In the corner of the building a little of the #5 mix is added at the back of the darker, door wall. The coolness of the blue makes the wall recede. Near the window sill I work carefully around my sketch of the kitten, I’ll come back and paint him later. If you’d like to see the picture larger just click on the image.

sa0517-step-8

Even though my reference photo had dark stone around the window I want a more airy look. So I change the surrounds to a lighter rock, using mixes #4, #5 and #6. This is the fun of painting, we are in total control! We don’t have to follow our reference material exactly.

sa0517-step-9

It’s fun developing the details of the lintel. My left hand is braced against the unpainted door to steady my right as I delineate the doodads.

sa0517-step-10

Medallions are painted with a lighter mix into the wet paint of the lintel. This makes them appear embossed.

sa0517-step-11

Since this piece is going to Arizona I’be painted a Kokopelli, a popular Southwestern symbol, in the space over the door. Our adobe and stone work is DONE! But……..

Before I let you go I have to share this video. Sit down, enjoy and take a laugh break. Make sure to listen closely at the beginning! Jack would have been appalled and gotten as far away from me as possible. WHY???? I would have danced….immediately! You just might want to also! A Huge THANKS to The Piano Guys! HUGS,

8 Responses to “Adobe and Stone”

  1. Ruth Maupin Says:

    Piano guys was so much fun – made me laugh!
    Thanks!! Also, thanks for the details on your paintings – I’ve been enjoying them, taking notes and being inspired!

  2. Catherine Green Says:

    I loved the video, Mikki, and I would’ve danced right there with you! Thank you and God bless you and your painting instructions.
    Catherine Green from Dayton, Ohio

  3. Tami Baron Says:

    Loved the video Mikki. It does make you want to get up and dance.

  4. sandracutrer Says:

    Nikki, I loved the video, and I had to share on my Facebook and Twitter! And, I would have danced along with you, while Jack laughed and hid from us. I say , “Who cares? Life is too short to miss a chance to dance, laugh, smile, hug, or love! β€οΈπŸ’ƒπŸ€Έβ€β™‚οΈπŸ˜πŸ‘©β€πŸŽ¨

  5. LouAnn Says:

    Loved this demo. As a former acrylics user, I’m having a hard time keeping my oils thicker. I tend to thin them out. Any tips for me? Thank you as always!

    • Mikki Senkarik Says:

      LouAnn, It just takes practice. You can certainly paint thin with oils. But if you want to paint thicker you just have to discipline yourself not to thin the oils out. Why don’t you take some small canvases and play with applying thick paint? The key word is PLAY! Don’t try to produce finished paintings, this is to get used to working with thicker paint. When you’re done you can always scrape all the paint off with your painting knife and use the canvas again later after it dries. HAPPY PLAYING! Mikki

  6. geminisinger Says:

    Thanks for sharing the video…I love the piano guys…and I would have joined you dancing! πŸ™‚

  7. Jeana Says:

    Love that video

Leave a Reply

