A Cozy Alley

sb1017-step-1

I’m beginning on another piece for Jeana. This one takes us back to a cozy little alley in Santa Fe. She wanted to incorporate one of her fur babies, Looka. Here’s my pen and ink sketch.

sb1017-step-2

First, the basic architecture is drawn up on the canvas with a brush dipped in a thin wash made of MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + Liquin Original. A T-Square, resting on the top of the canvas, is used to insure my lines are straight up and down. The container by the door is washed in with Ultramarine Blue + Liquin Original.

sb1017-step-3

The top of the open umbrella is sketched before drawing in the pole.

sb1017-step-4

Looka happily rests on the top step, watching the world go by.

sb1017-step-5

A chili ristra is washed in with Alizarin Crimson + Liquin Original. I came back with a clean brush dipped in thinner and lifted off the color to indicate the individual peppers. The entire ristra will be painted opaquely in a later session. All of the plants are labeled so I don’t forget my original plan. Thank you for following along. If you would like to receive an email every time I publish a new post please feel free to subscribe to my blog. CLICK THIS LINK and scroll to the upper right side of the page. You will see a heading EMAIL SUBSCRIPTIONS. Just enter your email address and click the button “Sign me up!”  It’s easy. And if you enjoy my blog please CLICK the FaceBook LIKE Button. As we say in Texas, “Much Obliged! HUGS,

3 Responses to “A Cozy Alley”

  1. bonnie austin Says:

    This is going to be so cute! You know I love your drawings as much as your paintings. How would you like to come up north and take some of this snow away? I can’t see out my bay window due to the plowed up piles. I thought we were going to get away without a rough winter but —-
    Bonnie

  2. Mercedes Franklin Says:

    Where did you find a clear plastic T Square?
    Thank you, Mercedes Franklin

    • Mikki Senkarik Says:

      Hi Mercedes,
      We got this little T-Square so long ago that I can’t remember where. But you can most likely find them at Office Depot or Hobby Lobby. I have a 36 inch wooden T-Square that I use for larger paintings. You also might try some of the online art suppliers like DickBlick.com or CheapJoes.com. Hope this helps, Mikki

Leave a Reply

