It was a Dark and Stormy Night!

First of all, I’m safe and sound. 4 tornadoes touched down in San Antonio last night, but far from where I am. Got lots of crazy wind and 2 3/4 inches of rain. Now Molly and Sissie, our rescue kitties, hated it. Molly was howling louder than the storm! After the worst had passed through and I finally got back to sleep those two decided to play chase on the bed. On top of me, of course. KIDS!!!! Had plenty of small branches and ball moss to pick up in the yard this morning, but other than that I was certainly blessed. Please keep those who were less fortunate than me in your prayers. 

tuscany-old-brick-well-1

So, back to painting. I’m beginning a new piece for our Santa Fe gallery, 20 inches tall by 24 inches wide. I love this old, water well.

sb1217-step-1

We’re going to magically move it from Tuscany and place it in a typical Southwestern courtyard.

sb1217-step-2

The drawing is sketched on the canvas with a brush dipped in a thin wash of MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + Liquin Original. I make sure to add plenty of Liquin to the wash, that way it will flow smoothly and won’t clump.

sb1217-step-3

A kitty, snuggled up against an old watering can, sleeps on the step up to the gate.

sb1217-step-4

We catch a glimpse of the surrounding mountains through the opening over the gate. Then construction of the courtyard wall begins. Several mixes of Cadmium Orange + Ultramarine Blue + MUD + White are used for the adobe.

sb1217-step-5

A Wisteria will guard the gate. It’s fun painting the gnarly, twisted trunk. The purple blossoms and soft foliage will be added in our next session. If you would like to receive an email every time I publish a new post please feel free to subscribe to my blog. CLICK THIS LINK and scroll to the upper right side of the page. You will see a heading EMAIL SUBSCRIPTIONS. Just enter your email address and click the button “Sign me up!”  It’s easy. And if you enjoy my blog please CLICK the FaceBook LIKE Button. As we say in Texas, “Much Obliged!

6 Responses to “It was a Dark and Stormy Night!”

  1. Karen Calcagno Says:

    Very glad your safe. What a night!
    Thank you for posting your art progress. I really enjoy my Mikki emails. And your memories of all the fun times you and Jack had. 😀💜

  2. Janet Zeh Says:

    Glad to hear you are safe Mikki!

  3. Christopher Newell Says:

    Glad you and the kittys are safe and sound. Pups & cats are not fond of barimetric fluctuations. I already made a wish on your well that all are safe. Hugs. “C”

  4. phyllis@santafeartcollector.com Says:

    I love it!!! Go to it!

    >

  5. mjspringett Says:

    A wishng well, glad you are safe

Leave a Reply

