AHHH, Horses!

sb1317-step-24

The body of the Bay is blocked in with mixes of MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + a little more Alizarin Crimson + Cadmium Red Light + White. Various combinations of these colors make a deep, rich, reddish brown. 

sb1317-step-25

His black points (legs, tips of ears, mane and tail) are made of Pure Ivory Black. A touch of White is added to make the highlights. Please remember, you may click on any of the images to enlarge them.

sb1317-step-26

I using my all-time favorite horse, Bar None Bert, as the model. I love the star, stripe and snip; zipping down his face.

sb1317-step-27

AND….my, could that boy ever zip. “Barnum” loved to run. If I’d let him stretch his legs in a full gallop when I first started a ride he’d calm down and do anything I wanted. We’d go charging through the orange groves near where I grew up. If there was a limb reaching out from a tree that looked any where near jumpable, we’d sail over it with ease.

sb1317-step-28

Rebel, a bright sorrel, was my first horse. Her shiny coat is mixtures in different proportions of MUD + Cadmium Orange + a little more Ultramarine Blue + White. 

sb1317-step-29

She had a wide blaze, swashed right down the center of her face. I’d saved up my baby sitting money and got her at an auction for $125! My girl was nervous around men, she’d been abused. But she was a darling with me. 

sb1317-step-30

Oh, my goodness. Not only is this piece a memory catcher for my client, it’s filled my heart with lots of warm memories as well! Hugs,

2 Responses to “AHHH, Horses!”

  1. harriettsart Says:

    Mikki, I am so glad you have these wonderful memories of the horses. It is like when I paint a person I love and I relive the memories as I paint. We heard today a reminder during worship that everything we do can be an offering and a thanksgiving to God our Maker. I see that in you. Thanks so much for sharing your process and beautiful work with us.
    Harriett Masterson

  2. bob raglandl Says:

    You are so solid!!!! BRAVOOOOOOOO!

    Non-Starving Artist NPR/bobragland bobraglandl/Facebook.com bobraglandnonstarvingartist.blogsopt.com

Leave a Reply

