California Mission Meets Texas Hill Country!

Before I get started I’d like to tell you how much I appreciate all of your wonderful comments about Jack. Thank you for helping me celebrate his birthday. I know he was smiling at all of us sharing our fun memories of him.

This piece is for Pitzer’s Fine Art in Wimberley, Texas. We started with Rob in 1998 at his gallery in Carmel, California. In honor of our long time friendship I’m going to combine the lovely Carmel Mission architecture with the Texas Hill Country spring! The bones, so to speak, of the painting is this gate at the Mission in Carmel.

I love this unusual window from another part of the mission.

And the fountain is a must!

Bluebonnets, our Texas State Flower, will be the stars of the view through the open gate.

I make a quick sketch to organize my thoughts. This is pretty rough, if the painting was going to be for a commission I’d do a much more finished drawing. But this works perfectly for me, I can follow my “Road Map” to the final destination…..

Sketching the plan up on the canvas. The basic elements are drawn with a brush dipped in a very thin wash of MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + Liquin. I label the flowers so I’ll remember my original idea as I get to painting! If you would like to receive an email every time I publish a new post please feel free to subscribe to my blog. CLICK THIS LINK and scroll to the upper right side of the page. You will see a heading EMAIL SUBSCRIPTIONS. Just enter your email address and click the button “Sign me up!”  It’s easy. And if you enjoy my blog please CLICK the FaceBook LIKE Button. As we say in Texas, “Much Obliged!

5 Responses to “California Mission Meets Texas Hill Country!”

  1. Angelica Says:

    The photos are beautiful Mikki…each one holds a painting idea and more. What a memorable trip. Can’t wait to see your progress.

  2. Denise Says:

    This is going to be beautiful! After you get it to Wimberley, I am going to go see it in person!

    • Mikki Senkarik Says:

      Denise, “Celebrate Spring” is now at Pitzer’s Fine Art in Wimberley. Please tell Rob and Jim Street HI when you go. And don’t forget to get some Ice Cream next door. Rob’s wife Lynda has the best Ice Cream in the world! Tell her Hello for me too! HUGS, Mikki

  3. Darrell Says:

    Just gorgeous and thats a fabulous photo of bluebonnets! They always make my heart sing. Phyllis

  4. PITZER'S FINE ARTS Says:

    Thanks Mikki! Can tell I’m gonna love it!

Leave a Reply

