Horseshoe Bay

We’re beginning on a new collaboration today. My collectors have a vacation home in Horseshoe Bay, Texas. Lesli would like to be able to enjoy the view from the deck at the lake house every day in their “city” home. 

After she pondered the sketch and we visiting a bit Lesli decided to change the flowers to some more colorful, Texas natives. As she said, “I feel like I’m a zone 8 plant and just don’t do well in the cold. I’d like the flowers on our deck to be the same.” Lesli remembers her grandmother’s Day Lilies and Irises, so we’ll definitely add them. The new flower selections are penciled in on the original sketch. You may click on the picture to enlarge the image.

The horizon line is established first, then the back ground hills, point and lighthouse are drawn. Moving to the foreground I begin developing the bistro table and chairs. All of the sketch is done with a brush dipped in a thin oil wash of MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + Liquin.

Once  I have the perspective of the the heart backed wrought iron chairs correct, containers full of Geraniums are added. Another terra cotta pot will be at the edge of the deck.  

Day Lilies, Bluebonnets and Hibiscus are sketched in and labeled to remind me of our gardening plan.

The wine bottle is washed in with a thin mix of Sap Green + Liquin. Alizarin Crimson + Liquin is washed over the green in the lower part of the bottle, indicating some wine is left. 

Wine glasses are filled, table legs made and we’re done for the day. I’m going to wait to do the uprights on the deck railing. They will be done when the water behind the railing is painted. If you would like to receive an email every time I publish a new post please feel free to subscribe to my blog. CLICK THIS LINK and scroll to the upper right side of the page. You will see a heading EMAIL SUBSCRIPTIONS. Just enter your email address and click the button “Sign me up!”  It’s easy. And if you enjoy my blog please CLICK the FaceBook LIKE Button. As we say in Texas, “Much Obliged!

3 Responses to “Horseshoe Bay”

  1. LouAnn Lubben Says:

    Hi Mikki, you’re inspiring me so much. I love your mixing system. My mud tends to be “dark”. when applied unlike your bright color. I keep lightening it. I’m using artist grade oils so I know it’s not the quality of paint, any hints are appreciated. Also have you mixed colors for copper, gold and silver appearance? I would love to visit your studio in the future

    • Mikki Senkarik Says:

      Hi LouAnn,
      Thank you for your kind words. My MUD is a mix of Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson + Liquin. I use a bit more Ultramarine than Alizarin. To make it lighter I add more Liquin.
      To mix a copper color you can use various combinations of Burnt Sienna, Raw Umber and White. You may also need a Cadmium Red, depending on the exact shade of copper you want. For Gold I use MUD + Cadmium Orange + Cadmium Yellow Medium + White. Silver is basically Ultramarine Blue + Cadmium Orange + White. MUD is added for the darker tones. Hope this helps. HAPPY PAINTING! Mikki

Leave a Reply

