Summer Sky

Colors are mixed and we’re all ready to paint those cottony clouds floating across the summer sky. #1. White + Pthalo Blue. #2. White + Pthalo Blue + a tiny bit of Cadmium Orange. AND I do mean just a tad. #3. White + Cobalt Blue. #4. MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + White. #5. Mix #4 + White. #6. Mixture #5 + a touch of Cadmium Orange + White. If you would like to learn more about our Double Primary Color Mixing System that Jack developed CLICK HERE.

The blue field of the sky is painted first. The uppermost region is blocked in with mix #3. The middle area is #1 and the portion of the sky nearest the horizon is the lightest mixture, #2. The places where I’m going to have the clouds are left unpainted. This way it’s easier to determine their design in the sky.

The shadows of the clouds are made with mix #4. The dark extends into the blue which is still wet. This gives the edges a feathery softness.

Highlights are added with mixtures #5 and #6, making sure the edges are kept fluffy so the clouds will recede.

The rolling hills of the Texas Hill Country line the lake. A combination of MUD + Ultramarine Blue + White is used for the water along the horizon.

Some of mixture #4 is brushed into the water to give the impression of cloud reflections.

Now the Horseshoe Bay Lighthouse is added to the scene. In reality, the view from Lesli and Mike’s deck is more panoramic than I’ve indicated. The opening between the two points is much farther apart, but to include both I had to give the lake a little squeeze! HUGS,

3 Responses to “Summer Sky”

  1. sandra ortega Says:

    Dear Mikki, I love your paintings and more when you show us how you paint those beautiful pieces, I wish I can be painting too, spending my days doing what I am most love (my husband too).I admire the way that you plan each one, thank you for sharing it. I almost move to San Antonio last month because my husband job opportunity but we decide to stay in the Chicago area, for him seems more opportunities here than there, for my as a Graphic Designer I suppose too. Sandra Ortega

  2. Denise Sanderson-Reel Says:

    The beautiful Highland Lakes! I used to go there every weekend. This is going to be so pretty! Love following along. 🙂

  3. Angelica Says:

    Now…this really makes me look forward to summer! This is an absolutely beautiful view. I can imagine watching those fluffy clouds just floating by. Love your color choices. No doubt your client is going to be really pleased!

Leave a Reply

