Flagstone Painting

This is a fun and different project, painting our Texas Bluebonnets and an old barn on FLAGSTONE! I googled and found out I didn’t have to do anything special to the stone other than make sure it was clean. Several people did recommend spraying the piece with polyurethane after the oils have dried for a few months. My next challenge was figuring out how to hold the rock on my easel. I finally decided to make a “Cradle” out of the pink insulation we use for shipping paintings. That was then taped to a piece of double-ply cardboard and placed on my easel. Now I begin working in my usual manner of sketching the basic plan with a thin oil wash of MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + Liquin. But I have to be very precise, there is no “Wiping OFF” to erase like you can on canvas. Once a mark is on the stone, it’s there…..PERIOD!

Huge Live Oak Trees provide a dark backdrop for the tin roof of the barn.

The roof has lost a couple of sheets of tin, exposing the rafters. The texture of the flagstone gives extra dimension to the rough wood walls of the barn. Some of the Bluebonnets surrounding the structure have been blocked in. 

Now the foreground Bluebonnets are blocked in with mixes of Ultramarine Blue + White.

The White “Bonnets” are added on our Texas State Flowers.

We need a little more color…..So let’s plant some Indian Paintbrush back by the barn.

Immersed in Spring

A few more Paintbrush are interspersed in the Wildflower field and our little barn is “Immersed in Spring!” I had every intention of photographing this piece on a white background after I took it off the easel. Of course, I totally forgot! My collector picked his flagstone painting up and only now did I remember. OH WELL……And OPPS! I almost forgot to tell you, if you’d like to see this enlarged just click on the picture! HUGS,

5 Responses to “Flagstone Painting”

  1. Patricia Ann Ingram Says:

    I LOVE IT! Great idea! I wonder where he’s going to use it? Maybe as part of a fireplace…. it would be a great conversation piece. May God Bless.

    • Mikki Senkarik Says:

      Hi Patricia, My collector is going to place this on a small easel on his coffee table. I think that is a great place because it can be viewed up close! Thank you for your compliments, God has truly blessed me. HUGS, Mikki

  2. Deb Haney Says:

    What an amazing piece of art!!! Neat idea and of course, beautiful….as always!!! Hugs!!!

  3. Angelica Says:

    Another treasure created by Mikki!

  4. Victoria Bales Says:

    I have painted on rocks and cattle shoulder blades (which stand by themselves), but never thought of putting them on the easel, which would make it easier. And I love your paintings and your blogs! Thank you so much for sharing.

Leave a Reply

