Texas Spring Sky

I’m thoroughly enjoying our Texas spring. So….let’s paint a little touch of Texas for our gallery in New Mexico, Santa Fe Art Collector.  I make a quick sketch.

My plan is transferred to a 14 inch by 14 inch canvas. Please remember, as you read through my blog, you may enlarge any of the images by clicking on the picture.

We begin with the sky. My colors are mixed and we’re ready to begin painting. The recipes are as follows: #1. White + a touch of Pthalo Blue + a little Cadmium Orange. #2. White + Pthalo Blue. #3. White + Cobalt Blue. #4 White + MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson). #5. Mixture #4 + more White. #6. White + a bit of Cadmium Orange and a small amount of Mix #5.

The blue field of the sky is blocked in first. Mix #3 is used near the upper part of the sky, #2 in the middle and #1, the lightest mixture, at the lower portion nearest the distant hills. Sweeping clouds are then added. Painting them wet-into-wet allows me to keep the edges feathery soft.

The most distant hills are painted bluer so they will recede. The closest ones are made with warmer colors. I love the old structures you see in the Hill Country. Unfortunately they are quickly disappearing. But that’s the fun of painting, we can keep them alive in our art! Rusty tin covers the roof, it’s blocked in with combinations in differing proportions of MUD + Cadmium Orange + Alizarin Crimson + White. A few strokes of Ultramarine Blue + White are brushed here and there to bring variation to the old metal. It’s fun painting the exposed rafters where a few sheets of tin have disappeared.

The weathered wood of the aging structure is made of several mixes of Ultramarine Blue + Cadmium Orange + MUD + White. 

The field around the old building is given a base coat of several shades of Ultramarine Blue + White and Ptahlo Blue + Cadmium Orange + MUD + White. That completes our session for today! I want to thank all of you for your neat comments on my last blog and the beautiful sunrise. I appreciate that you made the effort to write! You can certainly see Jack’s touch in our garden. Even though he was not able to physically help he was our head designer! I did the grunt work and everywhere I look I see his ideas! It’s a wonderful haven for me and our kitties. HUGS, 

 

 

Leave a Reply

