Italian Elegance

COBBLESTONES! The entire area of the walkway is covered, establishing the light and shadow pattern on the stones. Lots of texture is used, this will help to give the feeling of the rough cobbles.

Perspective lines are added in a random pattern. I let my brush dance along the edges of the thick paint strokes.

Next the horizontal crevices between the stones are made.

The canvas, mounted to a cardboard backing, is removed from the easel and laid flat to work on the bottom side of the painting. My supervisor, Molly, is asleep on the job!


African Daisies parade along the base of the fountain. They are blocked in following my usual sequence of Flowers First, Leaves Last.

Dark centers are applied with a mix of MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + Liquin. Then a dab of Cadmium Yellow Medium is placed in the middle of the dark spot. To finish, a tiny speck of the dark mixture is put in the center of the yellow. You may click on the image to enlarge it to see this better.

Geraniums are some of Roseann’s favorites! So we’ll fill all of the containers by the door with bright red ones.

Cheery Sunflowers glow juxtaposed against the red door.

Italian Elegance   14 inches by 14 inches

Italian Elegance brings a touch of Italy to our happy couple’s home. Here is an excerpt from an email Roseann sent: “This is awesome!  I just love to read about how you created my painting.   I didn’t realize you had included the Amalfi coast.  That is so wonderful!  I see photos on FB of the Amalfi coast and it just makes me want to live there – it’s so gorgeous!   I have the painting sitting on a stand right next to the couch in my family room. Every night when I relax, I enjoy my painting.   I am so grateful (as I’m sure all your collectors are) for your talent and your desire to share it with the world.   Truly a blessing!”

I’m just so extremely blessed that God gave me the ability to capture people’s dreams on canvas and sent Jack into my life to teach me to paint. HE has gifted me with wonderful collectors too! With HUGS and COLORFUL SMILES!

9 Responses to “Italian Elegance”

  1. Patricia Ann Ingram Says:

    Mikki, you are not only a blessing to your followers as a great Artist, but as a person willing to share their life as well as their talent with us. I love that you have black cats as I feed feral cats on my deck and most of them are black. Thank you for sharing your talent but most of all your “joy of life” as it lifts my spirit and brings a smile into my world. May God Bless.

    • Mikki Senkarik Says:

      Oh my goodness Patricia, Thank you. AND….Molly and Sissie are purring! They send greetings to your kitties! May Our Lord fill your day with His Peace and Joy! Mikki

  2. phyllis@santafeartcollector.com Says:

    Just beautiful ! What a gift you do have and how wonderful Jack brought it out in full in you. P

  3. Dorota Says:

    Dear Mikki,
    thank You for all the work that You do, I’ve been learning to paint by trying to copy Your paintings, at the beginning it was difficult as I think I wasn’t ready for that light and love that they contain! Haha, Person needs to evolve to be able to use light and colour, as I used to like painting closed courtyards, gradually move on to more open spaces, You are a real torch bearer of this world and a great exapmle for us to follow 🙂
    Lots of love from Poland 🙂
    Thank You!

    • Mikki Senkarik Says:

      Dorota,
      I appreciate your wonderful words, they make my heart sing. THANK YOU and Love back to you! AND…..my grandparents on my father’s side came from Poland! Mikki

  4. sandra ortega Says:

    Mikki, This is a very beautiful painting, make thing about paradise. I do have a question: which kind of canvas do you use? I always have issues because I need to spend a lot of money in frames, I am reading your late husband books and I am having fun, I think he was a very interesting person. thank youSandra Ortega

    • Mikki Senkarik Says:

      Hi Sandra, Thank you for your kind comments. Jack was definitely interesting and fun to be with. If I were you I’d go to Gallery Wrapped Canvases. You can continue your painted image onto the sides OR you can paint the sides with a dark color using acrylic. Do that before you paint your painting, tape off the edge with blue painter’s tape you get a Home Depot. This will keep your oil paint from getting on the side. When finished just pull the tape off and the sides are nice and clean. Either way the painting can be displayed without a frame. HAPPY PAINTING! Mikki

  5. LouAnn Says:

    Hi Mikki, I’m learning so much from you. Question: The Cadmium Red Pale is very transparent so I’m not achieving that layered look of color. It’s very flat on my canvas. Can you advise me on this? Does it just take practice? Thank you for sharing your love of Italy as I do!

    • Mikki Senkarik Says:

      Hi LouAnn,
      You might try to find some Cadmium Red Light rather than the Pale. It seems to be a thicker consistency. Also, if you’ve already painted a door or gate with the Pale you can glaze over it with a very thin wash of Alizarin Crimson + Liquin. When I use the Cadmium Red Light I don’t mix any Liquin or thinner with it. I use it straight from the tube for the sunny parts of the doors. I’m glad you love Italy too, it’s a magical place. Thank you for following my blog. With Colorful Smiles, Mikki

Leave a Reply

