Away to Santa Fe

This painting is going to our gallery in New Mexico, Santa Fe Art Collector. One thing I love about Santa Fe is even mundane mailboxes are bright and cheery. The piece is composed around a trio of Turquoise ones! I decided it would be fun to have a little kitty sleeping on the window sill on the opposite side of the courtyard. Here’s my quick sketch, if this were for a commission I’d do a more finished drawing. However for me this works perfectly, my ideas are inked in and I’m ready to begin on the canvas.

This piece is 20 inches by 24 inches and will done in a Gallery Wrap style with the painted image extending over on to the sides of the canvas. The basic composition is sketched with a brush dipped in a thin oil wash of MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + Liquin. Years ago Jack got me a book of Southwestern Architectural Details. I found this cool carving for over the window in our Santa Fe scene.

Now I’ll draw that sweet baby snoozing by the flower pots. Don’t forget, you may click on this image or any of the others to see them larger.

The mailboxes and the rest of the scene are sketched in and I’m ready to start painting. 

We begin with the sky because it’s the source of light for the rest of the piece. This is going to be a sunny, New Mexico afternoon so it’s nice and bright. If the sun was setting the lighting for the entire painting would be completely different. The blue field of the sky is blocked in first, leaving white canvas where fluffy clouds will float. The upper portion is White + Cobalt Blue, the lower part White + Pthalo Blue + a tiny bit of Lemon Yellow.

The shadow areas of the clouds are painted next with a mix of White + MUD. 

Highlights are added to the clouds. Next, the most distant mountain is made with a mix of White + Ultramarine Blue + MUD. The mixture is predominantly blue, or cool, so it will fall into the background.

The closer bluffs are made warmer, notice how the blue mountain drops back. Various mixes of Ultramarine Blue + Cadmium Orange + MUD + White are used for the rocky terrain. The trees are combinations of Ultramarine Blue + Cadmium Orange + White. 

The edges of the buildings are pulled through the wet paint of the scene in the background. Doing this now allows me to make the lines smooth. That’s all for today. If you would like to receive an email every time I publish a new post please feel free to subscribe to my blog. CLICK THIS LINK and scroll to the upper right side of the page. You will see a heading EMAIL SUBSCRIPTIONS. Just enter your email address and click the button “Sign me up!”  It’s easy. And if you enjoy my blog please CLICK the FaceBook LIKE Button. As we say in Texas, “Much Obliged!

Leave a Reply

