That Snoozin’ Kitty

After painting the steps the floor is blocked in entirely, establishing the light and shadow pattern on the tile. Then curved perspective lines are dragged into the wet paint of the pavers with a fine liner brush. Notice how the curved base line of the wall is extended all the way to the steps. This line serves as a guide for the others as I move to the left.

Horizontal lines separating the individual tiles are drawn next.

In case you haven’t realized it yet, I just love blue ceramic flower pots!

The Red Door reflects into the side of this one.

Geraniums made of combinations of Cadmium Red Deep + Alizarin Crimson, Cadmium Red Deep and Cadmium Red Light fill the containers. The sunlit petals are highlighted with Cadmium Red Light + White.

Now for that sweet little, snoozin’ baby! PLEEZZZEEE don’t tell Molly and Sissie this, but I love tiger kitties! I think one of the reasons is they are so fun to paint.

My laptop is placed on the taboret next to my easel, making it easy to view my reference photos. You may enlarge the image by clicking on the picture if you’d like to see my painting setup in more detail.

Molly is taking a nap right along with those cuties on the computer!

My wrist is braced against the mahl stick so my hand is steady as I add the final details on this sweetie’s face.

WHEW! I think I’m ready to take a nap now! It’s tough working when everyone around you is sound asleep! With HUGS and COLORFUL SMILES!

3 Responses to “That Snoozin’ Kitty”

  1. bonita austin Says:

    That is so cute with kittie on the shelf.

  2. Angelica Says:

    Every square inch of this painting is so beautiful…so much to see and little details to discover. Molly isn’t typing again is she? Thank you for sharing this with us. The kitty looks very comfy on that shelf!

Leave a Reply

