Fall Aspens

As usual we’ll start applying opaque color with the sky. It’s a cloud free day so I am only using three mixtures: #1. White + Cobalt Blue. #2. Mix #1 + White + a little Pthalo Blue. #3. White + Pthalo Blue.

Sun pours into the piece from the upper right corner. The darkest Mix, #1, is used at the far left. Mixture #2 is in the middle while Mix #3 is reserved for the far right portion of the sky. The transitions are blended with my large Bright (Square) brush. Please remember as you read through my blog, you may click on any of the pictures to see them larger.

A dear friend of Jack’s and mine, Charity Dakin, generously shared several aspen photos she’d taken. Isn’t this amazingly beautiful? I’m going to use it for the background of Jeana’s painting. But before we go on, I’d like you to look at Charity’s website. She is a very gifted artist, I love her work. CLICK HERE to see Charity’s gorgeous oils and watercolors.

Mountains behind the aspens will offer a dark backdrop for the sunlit trees.

The brush growing beneath the aspens is blocked in with several mixes of MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + more Ultramarine Blue + a tiny bit of Cadmium Orange + White. 

The golden fall foliage is painted with muted yellows. Combinations of Cadmium Yellow Medium + MUD + White, Cadmium Yellow Medium  + MUD + Cadmium Orange + White and Cadmium Yellow Medium + MUD + Alizarin Crimson + White are used.

The light trunks are drawn into the wet paint under the trees. My wrist is braced against the mahl stick to steady my hand as I delineate them.

Using the same colors from the trees above; their reflections are pulled downward into the water.

Still, still water; not a ripple anywhere! Hope you’ll come back soon. I’ll be working on the bank, trees and herd of deer on the right in our next session. With Colorful Smiles!

 

2 Responses to “Fall Aspens”

  1. jayalakshmi yegnaswamy Says:

    Lovely!! Beautiful!! Thank you so much my dear friend Mikki!! I love your colors! everything.. I look forward to your postings (email) it gives me so much joy! some day I should view your show; if you have in Newyork pl let me know. With Regards and Best Wishes; Jaya 🙂

    On Thu, May 18, 2017 at 6:11 AM, Mikki Senkarik wrote:

    > Mikki Senkarik posted: ” As usual we’ll start applying opaque color with > the sky. It’s a cloud free day so I am only using three mixtures: #1. White > + Cobalt Blue. #2. Mix #1 + White + a little Pthalo Blue. #3. White + > Pthalo Blue. Sun pours into the piece from the upper right ” >

  2. Angelica Says:

    I love the open view you have captured with this LONG view. Your scene offers a serene experience that will give the owner a wonderful reminder found in a peaceful forrest. This brings back memories of my own. Beautiful colors and design Mikki. We are looking forward to watching your progress. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

