A Little Surprise!!!!!

Sunlight pouring into the painting from the upper right casts Charlie’s shadow on to the wall below him. I have to make up the shape of the shadow, dragging it into the wet paint of the upright surface.

After the crevices and cracks are indicated on the wall I move to the cactus at the base. The prickly pads are blocked in with paint leftover from the riverbank on the right.

The rims of the individual paddles are highlighted and sharp stickers added. Just click on the image if you’d like to see it larger.

The entire unit of canvas and cardboard backing are laid flat in order to paint the rocks extending over on to the lower edge. Would you like to know how the painting was attached to the backing? Just CLICK HERE to see.

One day Jeana emailed and said two of the cutest little bunnies showed up in her yard. She was elated. I made a little mental note right then to add them in her painting. SO….here those cuties are, nestled by the gourd container at the base of the cactus! 

The finishing details are delineated with a fine liner brush.

And of course we had to have a bright red Cardinal join the menagerie! When our Mr. Chippers shows up here I truly believe it’s God’s way of letting me know He and Jack are thinking of me. Our Lord is assuring me Jack is safe with Him and I’ll see him again one day in Heaven. It always gives me a wonderful feeling of peace.

Cuties are done! I’ll be working on the Petroglyph containers in our next session. Hope you’ll come watch. HUGS,

2 Responses to “A Little Surprise!!!!!”

  1. Chad Marshall Says:

    I see the Griffin Alkyds below your table. I remember in one of Jack’s books he recommended them for their fast drying time. How do you like working with them?

    • Mikki Senkarik Says:

      Hi Chad,
      You are very observant! I use the Alkyds for embellishing my Giclees. Also for the flowers on the gallery wrap style paintings since the dry faster. Also they are thicker than regular oils which allows me to give a lot of texture to the flowers. Thank you for your question and for following my blog! Mikki

Leave a Reply

