Whispers From the Past

Red Corn Poppies burst out from the rocks beside the Heron petroglyph. The foliage is made of combinations of Pthalo Blue + Cadmium Yellow Medium while the blossoms are blocked in with Cadmium Red Deep and Cadmium Red Medium. The blooms dance high above the leaves, therefore I reversed my usual sequence and painted the Leaves First and Flowers Last.

California Poppies clamor over the rocks to the right of the sweet bunnies. Their cheery blossoms are mixes of Permanent Rose + White, Permanent Rose + Cadmium Orange and Cadmium Orange. Some of the reds left over from the Corn Poppies are used for the blooms in shadow. Greens from the cactus make the leaves.

Deep centers are added with a mix of Magenta + Liquin.

Blackfoot Daisies snuggle between the two gourd pots. The flowers are blocked in with mixes of Dioxazine Purple + White, Pthalo Blue + White and Ultramarine Blue + White.

Jeana asked if I could add some bluebonnets somewhere in her painting. The bank with our herd of deer is a perfect place! My wrist is braced against the mahl stick to steady my hand as I delineate the little white “Bonnets”. Please remember, you may click on this or any of the other images to see them enlarged.

Another request was a Blue Jay, so here he is getting ready to land on an aspen limb.

Whispers From the Past     16 inches x 36 inches

Wouldn’t it be neat if those petroglyphs could talk? It would certainly be amazing to hear their “Whispers From the Past”! It looks as if the deer have heard them! I appreciate you following along, your questions and all of your kind comments. Y’all are wonderful! HUGS,

5 Responses to “Whispers From the Past”

  1. Martha Slater Says:

    Just beautiful, Mikki. I wish I could paint along with you and learn your wonderful techniques.

  2. Patricia Ann Ingram Says:

    This is AMAZING! Once again you have blown me away! I cannot find the words to tell you how much I love it!! May God Bless.

  3. Anne Spies Says:

    Stunning! Just love all of the details.

  4. Deb Haney Says:

    How gorgeous!!!! You amaze me with your talent and story telling!!! What a special person you are!!! Lots of hugs!!!

  5. cgbell7773@gmail.com Says:

    I love the Aspen and the cardinal

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

