Love Forever

Our first step today is to mix colors for the terra-cotta containers and the Geraniums, as well as the Sweet Potato Vines, that will be planted in them. #1. Three mixes are made in different proportions of MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + Cadmium Orange + a little Cadmium Red Light for the pots. #2. Ultramarine Blue + White. #3. Cadmium Red Deep Hue + Alizarin Crimson. #4. Cadmium Red Deep Hue. #5. Cadmium Red Light. #6. 3 combinations of Pthalo Blue + Lemon Yellow.  #7. Pthalo Blue + Liquin. #8. Pthalo Blue + Lemon Yellow + White. #9. Three shades of Pthalo Blue + Cadmium Yellow Medium + Cadmium Orange + White for the Sweet Potato Vine.

TALKING VIDEO! Painting the Geraniums Part I.

And here is the second part.

African Daises fill the container on the left. I was originally going to add some tall Gladiolas in the mix. But I soon realized if I did that, the flowers would be so thick they would cover over the Infinity symbol on the chair. I know that “Figure 8” is far more important to my collector than the Gladiolas.

Centers are added to the Daisies. First a solid dot is made with MUD + Liquin. Then I come back and make a smaller, Cadmium Yellow Medium dot in the middle of that. The final touch is a small speck in the center of the yellow with the MUD mix. You may enlarge the picture to see this more clearly, just click on the image.

Love Forever      10 inches by 10 inches

Gary and Kathy can sit on the terrace, sip some wine and go for a stroll on their own private Carmel beach. Their hearts are interwoven for eternity, the honeymoon is never over! Thank you for following along. AND for all of your encouraging words about my new “Talkie” Videos. The general consensus has been “DO MORE!” So I will do as I’m told! With HUGS and COLORFUL SMILES.

7 Responses to “Love Forever”

  1. Angelica Says:

    So…..beautiful!!! Your details are just amazing! It would be impossible for me to choose a favorite area of this beautiful painting! I can hear those waves crashing in on the rocks…the Carmel shore, a place of solitude and beauty. No doubt this loving couple will cherish this painting forever. Thank you for the wonderful audio/videos.

  2. Bob Ragland Says:

    Your demos are VERY instructive -BRAVO!!!!!!! I saw your work in Taos a few years ago. You could publish a book?

  3. Jody Says:

    I love the way you lay everything out, so we can follow your thought process. Thank you, and thanks for the “talkie!”

  4. Sheryl Says:

    Hi Mikki
    Love your “talking” video. Your voice is as lovely as your paintings 😊
    I have enjoyed all your videos and have learned some things! I was wondering if you apply any kind of final finish on your oil paintings and what product you would recommend. Thank you.
    Sheryl

    • Mikki Senkarik Says:

      Thank you Sheryl, I’m glad you appreciate my Texas “Twang”! YES, I do apply a final varnish. We use Grumbacher Spray Retouch Varnish. It’s manufactured to use on wet paintings. The varnish protects the painting and brings all the colors back to the same glossiness. Thanks for following my blog! Mikki

  5. Patricia Ann Ingram Says:

    I was just wondering… if you are going to mail a canvas do you let it dry for a couple of days before sending it? I know it won’t actually dry in a couple of days but it seems scary to me to just put a just finished canvas in the mail. Thank you so much for the videos! You make everything look so simple. May God Bless.

    • Mikki Senkarik Says:

      Patricia,
      YES, I do wait to ship the paintings until they are dry to touch. If you would press down on the thick globs of paint, they would squish out. But the pieces are packed so nothing touches the surface. They arrive safely and by that time are dry enough for the gallery or collector to hang on the wall. Thank you for your compliments! God’s Blessings to you also! Mikki

Leave a Reply

