A Mother’s Day Surprise

In January my collectors welcomed a new addition to their family, daughter Emma! This picture was taken as Caleb and Ethan met their new baby sister for the very first time. Mother Ashley was absolutely heartsick that the photo didn’t turn out very well. So Pastor Chris asked if there was any way possible for me to make a painting as a surprise Mother’s Day Gift for her. 

Even though the picture was fuzzy I got goosebumps looking at it. The emotion captured is awesome and the lighting perfect for a painting. I said, “Definitely YES, we’ll make it work.” Since there was very little detail in the actual photo I gave him the assignment of going through all of his pictures and finding shots of everyone in similar poses. Pastor Chris did his homework well. Working from those pictures I reconstructed the introduction. The family portrait was actually painted several weeks ago but I couldn’t show the blog until now! My first step is to lightly pencil in the figures on my canvas.  Please remember, you may click on any of the pictures to see them larger.

Next Ashley is drawn with a brush dipped in a thin oil wash made of MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + Liquin. 

When Mom is complete work begins on Ethan. The shadow areas are established before adding any details on his face.

Now Caleb is washed in.

And sweet little Emma. I love the way the light coming from the window, in the original photo, falls on her face.

Then Dad is blocked in.

Our family is up on the canvas. At this stage I’m not worried about getting exact likenesses. This is more to make certain of everyone’s placement on the canvas and developing the light and shadow patterns. I see right now I have Ashley’s upper arm too short, I’ll make that correction later. If you would like to receive an email every time I publish a new post please feel free to subscribe to my blog. CLICK THIS LINK and scroll to the upper right side of the page. You will see a heading EMAIL SUBSCRIPTIONS. Just enter your email address and click the button “Sign me up!”  It’s easy. And if you enjoy my blog please CLICK the FaceBook LIKE Button. As we say in Texas, “Much Obliged!

One Response to “A Mother’s Day Surprise”

  1. Angel Says:

    What a priceless precious treasure for this family! A moment in time captured by Mikki beautifully. Love the love you have already captured! Can’t wait to see more…

Leave a Reply

