DAD

We’re ready to begin on Pastor Chris. The color mixtures are laid out on my palette: #1. MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + Liquin. #2. MUD + Cadmium Orange + a little Ultramarine Blue + White. #3. MUD + Ultramarine Blue + a touch of Cadmium Orange + White. #4. Cerulean Blue + White. #5. Mixture #2 + a bit of Ultramarine Blue + White. #6 Mix #3 + Cerulean Blue + White. #7 White + some of Mix #2. #8. Mixture #2 + Alizarin Crimson + White.

Light pours into the painting from the upper left, so Dad’s face will be in shadow. Typically faces have three color zones. The forehead is yellow, mid face is red and lower face is blue. Now, before you fall out of your chair saying, “WHHHHHAAATTTTTT??????? Let me quickly explain, or ‘splain, as Jack would say.  The color differences are VERY SUBTLE. The skin covering the cheek bones and nose is very thin, with blood vessels right under the surface. Therefore this part of the face is redder, especially if the person spends a lot of time outdoors in the sun. 

The blues in the lower face are much more pronounced in men because of their beard. In the picture above I’m painting Pastor Chris’s teeth. It’s always a fine line between getting them too dark and they look dirty. Or too light and then they pop out of the mouth! I paint them as a solid unit, not trying to delineate the individual teeth. That would make them look too much like a picket fence. You may click on the picture to enlarge the image.

My hand rests against the mahl stick to steady it as I block in his nose.

The ears are part of the red, mid portion of the face.

The shirt is made of Alizarin Crimson + a little Ivory Black + White. I want it to be rich in color but not “Jump Out at You” Bright!

His jacket is a warm gray in various combinations of Cadmium Orange + Ultramarine Blue + White. Some MUD is thrown in for the darker shadows. 

Pastor Chris is blocked in, I’ll have to come back and make final adjustments to get his likeness exactly right. But I want to wait until I get the canvas completely covered and everyone else in.

I’d like to thank those of you who have told me my website isn’t working properly. I really appreciate it! Jack and I originally obtained our domain names in 1994! LONG before we owned a computer. BUT….we knew someone who had one. I can’t believe I just said that! Anyway, they were able to register Senkarik.com for me; however, JackWhite.com was already taken by a realtor in Alaska. So we got JackWhiteArtist.com for Jack and then had some company build us websites. I remember the first time we saw them on our friend’s computer, it was like magic when he clicked the images and they enlarged! We finally did get our first computer in 1999! Over the years both sites have been through many revisions, updates and additions. Well, seems that links, modules and whatever are all terribly out of date. We were told internally the sites look like cyberspace junkyards! Time to START ALL OVER. Well…..I’m going to take a deep breath and dive in. It may take me awhile but I’ll eventually get Senkarik.com back up with a whole new look! Fortunately Jack’s site seems to be functioning alright for now. SO…..BIG HUGS from your soon to be computer geek friend,

Mikki Senkarik signature JPEG

2 Responses to “DAD”

  1. Cathleen Battles Says:

    I have been meaning to email you to tell you I am getting a Jennifer Vranes painting, Walking Through Heaven. I understand you were her mentor. She is delightful! You introduced me to Gallery 1870, and that is where I found her work. So thank you 😊

    Cathy Battles

    • Mikki Senkarik Says:

      Hi Cathy, That is so wonderful! Jennifer and Matt are definitely a delightful couple. Jack actually started helping them with marketing “West Coast” Jennifer’s beautiful paintings many years ago. We finally met them in person years later in Santa Fe when they attended a workshop we gave. We’ve watched their family grow up and they even named one of their sons after Jack! We’ve always been so proud of their success! You’ll have to email me a picture of your painting when you get it in place. HAPPY HUGS, Mikki

Leave a Reply

