A Precious Moment

Finishing up on the children. I’m showing three days work, compressed into the one post. Ethan is the youngest of the two “Big Brothers”, his face is blocked in first. The facial tones of the children are more fair and even pinker than that of their mom.

After defining his facial features I make Ethan’s cheeks a bit pinker.

The same skin tones are used to block in Caleb’s face. His hair is painted using several of the mixtures remaining from Ashley’s.

Upon first seeing the fuzzy picture Pastor Chris had I was overwhelmed with the inquisitiveness and gentleness of Caleb, tenderly pulling the blanket back to see his NEW baby sister. I still get goosebumps. I feel like God gave me a special opportunity to paint this piece. And I know Jack enjoyed every single brush stroke as he peered down from Heaven. I most certainly could hear his voice in my mind, giving me advice as I worked.

A fine liner brush is used to make the tiny details on Emma. You may click on this, or any of the other images to see them enlarged.

Sunlight pours over Ethan’s shoulder, silhouetting Caleb. A soft White made of White + Ultramarine Blue is used for the highlight. I don’t use pure White because it would be too bright, taking attention away from Emma’s delicate face.

Ethan is the blondie in the family! Mixes of MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + Cadmium Yellow Medium + White are used for his golden hair.

A Precious Moment     12″ x 16″

The boys, wearing their “Big Brother” T-shirts, meet their baby sister, Emma, for the first time in this “Precious Moment”. I received the sweetest email from Ashley….“Thank you for sharing your blog posts with me!! I was definitely surprised and in awe of the painting… It brought tears to my eyes as I had come to the conclusion that the memory of them meeting would be just that – a treasured memory. But you brought it to life on canvas… And my amazing husband thought of it and provided you with all the materials to aid in the painting coming together.”

I feel so blessed! In Him,

6 Responses to “A Precious Moment”

  1. Fran Says:

    Perhaps one of your most special pieces, Mikki. I definitely teared up over this one!

  2. Janet Zeh Says:

    So beautiful Mikki! I love how you captured the tender emotions in this piece.

  3. Lesley Otto Says:

    Absolutely beautiful Mikki, I enjoy looking at all your work, but this one really hits the spot.

  4. Terri El Farkh Says:

    So incredibly sweet and perfectly painted. They will cherish it forever.

  5. Shirley Says:

    You have created such a tender, protective composition by cropping your photo reference to form a triangle with the parents’ arms at the base following their bodies leaning inward to an invisible point above their heads. The photographer also caught a small inner triangle from the boys’ heads to the baby’s head.Beautiful!

    • Mikki Senkarik Says:

      Shirley, you see what I saw even though the photo was fuzzy. My heart skipped a beat at the beauty of the composition. How many artists who paint portraits get the chance to capture such emotion? I knew God had presented me a unique opportunity. I feel so blessed. Thank you for your wonderful comment. HUGS, Mikki

Leave a Reply

