A Cozy Cabin

My collectors stayed at this wonderful Bed and Breakfast near Lost Maples, a beautiful part of Texas. Can’t you just imagine how cool it was to relax in this cozy cabin? AND with all the comforts of home, I might add, notice the dish!

Dan and Kathy asked me to add a field of Bluebonnets and other wildflowers as well as a babbling brook in the foreground. Here’s my sketch.

Work on the canvas begins by sketching up the building in a thin oil wash of MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + Liquin. I want to establish the placement of the building first. Then I’ll build the rest of the composition around it.

Look in the background behind the cabin, there is a round rock planter. You may click on the image to see it larger. Most likely it originally was a water tank for horses and cattle to drink from. But now it appears to have been converted to a raised garden.

I’m going to move the raised planter to the left of the cabin. Believe me, after constructing our garden here, it’s much easier to do in a painting than in real life!

Moving to the foreground I start making the “Stair steps” of the little water falls.

Rocks line the stream. Wouldn’t it be fun to use those boulders as stepping stones to cross from one side of the water to the other?

Flowers are labeled and we’re done. Ready to begin painting in our next session! If you would like to receive an email every time I publish a new post please feel free to subscribe to my blog. CLICK THIS LINK and scroll to the upper right side of the page. You will see a heading EMAIL SUBSCRIPTIONS. Just enter your email address and click the button “Sign me up!”  It’s easy. And if you enjoy my blog please CLICK the FaceBook LIKE Button. As we say in Texas, “Much Obliged!

Mikki Senkarik signature JPEG

3 Responses to “A Cozy Cabin”

  1. Kathy Kincer Says:

    I’m so excited to see our picture come to life!!! Kathy

  2. Art blog Says:

    Hi mikki your paintings are all so beautiful, I love your work and your blog too, keep up the amazing work you are a great artist and really inspirational.

    • Mikki Senkarik Says:

      THANK YOU and welcome to my studio. Please feel free to ask questions. One of the main reasons I write this blog is to help fellow artists as we travel on our artistic pathway. God has given us a great blessing! HAPPY PAINTING, Mikki

Leave a Reply

