Bluebonnets Explained!

Before starting to paint the field of Bluebonnets I get all of the color I’ll need mixed and laid out on my palette. The little globs on the left are paint remaining from our last session. #1. White + Magenta. #2. 3 shades of Ultramarine Blue + White. #3. Cobalt Blue + White. #4. Dioxazine Purple + White. #5. Several combinations of White + Pthalo Blue + Cadmium Orange. This shows what a wide variety of colors you can achieve by mixing just two hues + White. #6. Mixes in different proportions of Alizarin Crimson + Cadmium Yellow Medium.  #7. Some of the distant mountain and sky colors saved from previous sessions.

We’ll plant some flowers in that rock planter. The #6 mixes are used here.

OK, you asked for it……Talking ’bout painting Bluebonnets! 

Part II

Part III

Now the Bluebonnets are in I start blocking in the California Poppies. I also use the #6 mixtures here. Where the Orange flowers extend up over the Bluebonnets the thick paint is gently “Laid” on top of the blue. This way I don’t pick up the underlying color and muddy the bright orange blossoms. Rocks along the stream are painted with some of the paint used for the cabin. 

Look at the raised flower bed by the cabin. I’ve painted some of the Magenta, #1, over the reds and oranges to mute them. Then I start adding the thread like stems of the California Poppies. You may click on this or any of the other images to see them larger.

White Thistle Poppies grow around the side of the gallery wrap canvas. They are blocked in with mixes of White + Ultramarine Blue, White + Pthalo Blue and White + Dioxazine Purple.

White highlights and yellow centers complete the Thistles. That’s all for today. AND….Please, always feel free to ask questions! With Colorful Smiles, 

Mikki Senkarik signature JPEG

 

2 Responses to “Bluebonnets Explained!”

  1. Denise Says:

    Thank you so very much for posting this! I learned a lot from watching you paint bluebonnets and now I understand why mine don’t “pop” out-I’ve been putting in the grass and ground first, then painting the bluebonnets over that. I will change to your method next time I do a painting with them! Also, I enjoy your narration when you do your videos. Thanks again and have a blessed day!

  2. Catherine Monce Says:

    Thanks from the south of france. I don’t speak english but i trie !

Leave a Reply

