Background and Striped Umbrellas

 

The background is painted with soft, cool green blues made of Pthalo Blue + Cadmium Orange + a touch of Lemon Yellow + lots of white. Right now the distance looks pretty “warm” but it will change when all of the bright, warm colors are introduced in the foreground. The umbrellas at the booths in the background are also painted with muted colors so they will recede.

Other market goers are indicated very impressionistically; the lady on the right is carrying an armload of Gladiolas! The upright flowers are designed to break the horizontal line of the blue umbrella.

DEMONSTRATION VIDEO! Painting the striped umbrella in the foreground.

ANOTHER VIDEO DEMO! Part II of painting the umbrella.

My easel is on wheels, making it easy to turn in order to work on the side of the gallery wrap canvas.

Background and Umbrellas DONE! Next work begins on the chef, plus I’ll have a VIDEO DEMONSTRATION of painting the Lilies. HUGS,

3 Responses to “Background and Striped Umbrellas”

  1. Rose Herczeg Says:

    Mikki, it’s so wonderful watching this painting come to life. I love the lilies!!! I do have a question… I have gone through a lot (probably near all by now) of your blog, and have taken a look at the photos you post of your palette with mixed paints. I was wondering if you have a video of how you choose the colors and if there is a system you use (besides the colors themselves) that helps you decide how many shades of a color to use in any particular object. Do you always premix everything in advance, or do you sometimes mix while working? I would love to see a video explaining how you choose, mix colors, and how many shades of each color, allowing for a more impressionistic rather than overly detailed work. Thank you in advance, and no rush. I seem to have more time today and wanted to write 🙂 Blessings, Rose

    • Mikki Senkarik Says:

      Rose, I wish there was a system I could give you. Usually I’ll mix a light, middle value and dark shade of the colors I’m going to use. Then I’ll make a few variations within those shades before I start painting. As I paint I may add colors to those. It’s more intuition than system. Say for instance the shadow color for an adobe wall. I want to have several shades close to the same value so the shadow area isn’t all the same and boring. I’ll make some mixes cooler, or bluer, some will be warmer. I hope this helps. HUGS, Mikki

  2. Rose Herczeg Says:

    Thank you Mikki! Your video helped immensely. Sorry I did not see this comment. I forgot to subscribe. You are such an inspiration! Hugs back, Rose

Leave a Reply

