Basket of Goodies

The Daisies next to the Sunflowers are several different shades of Magenta + White and Dioxazine Purple + White. I also make some of the flowers with Reds remaining from the Chef’s jacket. My goal is to make a happy combination of flowers that will provide a dark backdrop for the Sunflowers in front of them.

The large blossoms of the cheery Sunflowers are painted first with mixes of Cadmium Yellow Medium + MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson), Cadmium Yellow Medium + Cadmium Orange + MUD and Pure Cadmium Yellow Medium. A couple of shades of each of the darker mixes are made so the petals will have variety. Notice the table in the background, I had previously decided to put lemons there. Even though the yellow is grayed down and cool it still wants to jump forward. As warm as the yellows in the Sunflowers are there is still not much feeling of depth. 

NOW….take a look. Compare the two pictures. See how much more depth there is when I replace the yellow with cooler blues and lavenders? Jack would say, “This is an opportunity for a teaching moment!” It’s a perfect example showing how the “Warm Colors Come Forward, Cool Colors Go Back” rule works. This is much better. After painting the foliage of the Sunflowers with mixes of Pthalo Blue + Cadmium Yellow Medium, the large centers of the blossoms are made. 

It was fun thinking of goodies to fill the Chef’s basket. I love artichokes so decided to add some for him. 

We’ll bring a few of the lemons we took off the table in the background and plop them in with the rest of the Chef’s selection. Of course fresh Strawberries are a must have.

The entire bowl of the basket is covered with combinations of MUD + Cadmium Orange + Ultramarine Blue + White. Then I come back and apply short brushstrokes in lighter values to indicate the woven pattern of the reeds.

Carrots and Beets finish out the delicious goodies our Chef has selected. But it doesn’t look like he’s finished, I imagine some Eggplant is going to end up in the basket too.

Received a great question the other day,  “How much Liquin do I use when making the oil washes to draw or block in the initial sketch on the canvas?” This is just an estimation but I probably put out about 2 teaspoons of Liquin on my palette. Then using the tip of my painting knife I’ll get a nickle sized amount of MUD and mix it into the Liquin. If I want a darker, thicker wash I’ll add more MUD. If I want the wash to be lighter I add more Liquin. Hope this is clear. I appreciate your questions as well as you following along. HAPPY PAINTING! HUGS,

 

 

One Response to “Basket of Goodies”

  1. Angel Says:

    Oh my Mikki…you are making me hungry!!! Yum-yum! I love fresh veggies, fresh flowers and fruits. This brings back wonderful thoughts about going to our local farmer’s market. This is certainly an inspiration for those of us who love to cook with healthy ingredients! Bill just loves finding “treasures” on the farmer’s tables as we stroll through the market. Thanks for sharing and the lessons.

Leave a Reply

