A Cool Arch

Beginning a new piece for Our Annual Collector Event. Going through our reference files I came upon this picture. I love the cross beam in the arch so I’m going to incorporate that idea into my painting.

I make a VERY rough thumbnail sketch of my general plan. This is definitely not a finished drawing, the perspective is off. But it’s good enough for my purposes; giving me a “road map” to follow for this painting. If it was a commission I’d do a much more complete sketch and ink it in. 

Before transferring the plan to my canvas I went back and looked at my show inventory. Sure glad I did, because I have another piece that is totally different but has a door on the right side. So I flip my composition and begin drawing the basic architectural elements on the canvas.

A brush dipped in a thin oil wash of MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + Liquin is used to draw the plan.

Here is the proportion of Liquin (#1) to MUD (#2) that is used to make the oil wash for sketching the design on the canvas. Those two are mixed thoroughly. If you’d like a lighter value, add more Liquin. To make the wash a darker value, put in a bit more MUD. #3 is a wash of Magenta + Liquin and #4, Dioxazine Purple + Liquin. These are used for blocking in the Clematis which I show in the following Video.

DEMONSTRATION VIDEO: Washing in the blossoms of the Clematis Vine.

We’ll begin painting in the next session! Hope you’ll come follow along. If you would like to receive an email every time I publish a new post please feel free to subscribe to my blog. CLICK THIS LINK and scroll to the upper right side of the page. You will see a heading EMAIL SUBSCRIPTIONS. Just enter your email address and click the button “Sign me up!”  It’s easy. And if you enjoy my blog please CLICK the FaceBook LIKE Button. As we say in Texas, “Much Obliged!

 

4 Responses to “A Cool Arch”

  1. mysoreraja Says:

    MIkki, I love your posts explaining all the process and thoughts. Are we allowed to paint along with you following the steps in the post?

    • Mikki Senkarik Says:

      Hi Mysoreraja,
      Yes, you may paint along with me. You may not know this but one of the main reasons art museums were originally set up was so artists could bring their paints, set up and copy the paintings. Please feel free to ask questions! HAPPY PAINTING, Mikki

  2. Cathleen Battles Says:

    Hi, Mikki!

    I love this piece. When you painted it, what size was it? Do you remember? I might order it but would want it just like this picture–as close as you can come to it. It can’t be very big for the wall I have in mind.

    I hope you are doing well with your dear kitties and beautiful garden🌺.

    Cathy Battles

  3. phyllis@santafeartcollector.com Says:

    What a beautiful photo of the arch and Wisteria. How I love it! I know this will be a gorgeous painting. Hope you are having a great day! Love,P >

Leave a Reply

