Day Break

Our setting is early in the morning as sunlight just begins to dance across the clouds and landscape. And God provided me with an exceptionally beautiful sunrise to study this morning as I walked. I believe HE gave Jack and all of the other Master artists in Heaven huge paintbrushes to splash HIS glory across the clouds. I can’t even come close but I’ll do my best. My color mixes are #1. White + MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson). #2. White + MUD + Alizarin Crimson + a touch of Cadmium Red Light. #3. Mix #2 + White + Cadmium Orange. #4. Two shades of White + Cobalt Blue.

The entire sky is blocked in first with the #4 mixtures; clouds are then painted wet into wet over the blue. The sun pours into the painting from the right so the clouds on that side are made with the lightest mix #3. #2 is used as we move further to the left, while the darkest mixture is added intermittently along the top of the distant mountains. Please remember as you read through my blog, you may click on any of the images to see them larger.

The mountain ridge furthest from us is made cooler, or bluer, so it will recede. Notice how the sun warms the portion at the right, I’ve added some of mix #3 there. Sunlight warms the bluffs framed by the open archway.

You can see how I’ve “Painted Forward”. Working on the sky, then the distant mountain, moving to the bluffs and now the hill just beyond the rock wall. The dark pinon pines help to make the light on the bluffs glow. 

OxBlood Lilies top the wall lining the cobblestone path that slopes down the hill.

A brush of day break brightens the Lilies and top of the rock wall. Then random lines are added to indicate the crevices between the cobbles and we’re done for today. Hope you’ll come back for our next session. I’ll have a VIDEO showing how I mix colors. HUGS,

2 Responses to “Day Break”

  1. Rose Herczeg Says:

    I love this, Mikki! I had a wonderful sunrise here in Ponte Vedra, FL this morning too! I am looking forward to the color mixing video! 🙂 Love and blessings, Rose

  2. Angel Says:

    This is stunningly beautiful. The peace flowing in the sky is truly heartwarming. This is going to be absolutely beautiful on your client’s wall.

    Thank you for sharing the lessons and photos of your journey.

    Angelica

Leave a Reply

