Pedalin’ in Provence

We’re going to Provence today! I love the bicycles with baskets full of flowers that you see in Southern France. So, here’s my sketch for another show painting which is going to be 14 inches tall by 14 inches wide.

But once I get to working on the canvas I realize there is far too much for me to cram in this size piece. My original composition is much better suited for a larger, vertical painting. So we’ll make some adjustments “on the fly”. Or maybe I should say, “on the pedal”! The bike and flowers are the main focal point so off with the striped awning. I’ll just add some shutters on either side of the window.

As I was adding the shutters a thought came to me…. What about a kitty sitting on the window sill sniffing the Sunflowers? Sissie, one of our rescue kitties, has to sniff everything. Jack often commented that he was surprised her little nose didn’t get worn out she sniffed so much!

I’d already washed in the window area with a thin mixture of MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + Liquin. It was easy enough to go back and lift off the wash with a clean brush dipped in odorless paint thinner to make the kitty’s shape. 

We’re all drawn up and ready to start painting in our next session. I do hope you’ll come back and visit our studio. If you would like to receive an email every time I publish a new post please feel free to subscribe to my blog. CLICK THIS LINK and scroll to the upper right side of the page. You will see a heading EMAIL SUBSCRIPTIONS. Just enter your email address and click the button “Sign me up!”  It’s easy. And if you enjoy my blog please CLICK the FaceBook LIKE Button. As we say in Texas, “Much Obliged!

 

One Response to “Pedalin’ in Provence”

  1. phyllis@santafeartcollector.com Says:

    Love this idea! Can’t wait to see it. >

Leave a Reply

