Rough Rock, Smooth Tile

Several mixtures of MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + Cadmium Orange + more Ultramarine Blue + White are used for the rough, rock walls. The colors are applied to the canvas first, then I come back and impressionistically indicate the crevices of the individual stones. Lighter mortar, made by adding White to some of the wall color, fills the joints.

Window sashes and shutters are mixes of Cobalt Blue + White. I paint around the sketch of the kitten very carefully; my wrist rests on the mahl stick to steady my hand.

The light and shadow pattern is established on the tile floor. My basic mixes are MUD + Cadmium Orange + White.

After drawing the perspective lines that separate the tiles into the wet paint of the floor with a fine liner brush, the part of the bicycle tires hitting the ground are made. I want to do this while the tile paint is still wet, it’s much easier to make the edges smooth.

Dioxazine Purple + White is perfect for the Lavender snuggled against the base of the rock wall. The flowers are blocked in first, then the foliage will be painted.

Right now I’m going to leave the areas inside the bicycle tires unfinished. I’ll come back and paint the Lavender in those spots when I’m ready to do the spokes!

COOL NEWS! My art in going to be featured in this Saturday’s special edition of FASO’s prestigious Informed Collector newsletter. CLICK HERE to sign up to receive Informed Collector so you can see my feature. FASO.com is the company I used when I recently built my new website, Senkarik.com. I’m overwhelmingly impressed. As an extremely computer challenged person, let me tell you……their support staff is TOTALLY AMAZING. If they could help me produce a beautiful new site, they can help anyone. Their rates are very reasonable and they give you 30 days FREE to try them out! FASO.com caters to artists, the templates they provide are a perfect compliment to your art. CHECK THEM OUT at www.FASO.com. AND…if you decide to use FASO to build a website please tell them Mikki Senkarik referred you. Both of us will receive 30 days FREE toward our subscriptions.

One Response to “Rough Rock, Smooth Tile”

  1. Rose Herczeg Says:

    How very exciting, Mikki! I look forward to reading the article! Your painting process, as always, is even more exciting! Have a blessed day!

Leave a Reply

