The Loons are Calling

Today I begin by working on the Loons. Growing up in the south, I’d never heard of Loons until 1983 when I saw the movie, “On Golden Pond”. Oh my goodness! I immediately fell in love with them and their wonderful warbling calls. Kim said they always had a pair out on the water nearby their lake home and would hear their distinctive cry at dusk. Her family enjoyed watching the loons’ chicks, or loonlets, grow up.

If you’d like to see any of these pictures larger, all you have to do is click on the image!

Kim laughed when she told me her mom named the loons, Claire and Clarence d’Loon! SO…I’d like to introduce you to Claire and Clarence d’Loon! The mother loon carries the tiny loonlets on her back, so I’ve added one hitching a ride. A second baby will be swimming along nearby.

The fall foliage of the birch trees is painted with mixes of Cadmium Yellow Medium + a bit of MUD (2 parts Ultramarine Blue + 1 part Alizarin Crimson), Cadmium Yellow Medium + MUD + Cadmium Orange, Cadmium Yellow Medium + Alizarin Crimson + White and Cadmium Yellow Medium + a tiny touch of MUD + White.

The grassy bank has been blocked in with several mixtures of Ultramarine Blue + Cadmium Lemon Yellow + White. Then, Viridian Green + Ultramarine Blue + White is used for the canoe.

Wild Irises grow in the shallows along the shoreline. Their graceful leaves are made by pulling the brush upward, over the grass behind them, with combinations of Pthalo Blue + Cadmium Lemon Yellow. The stems at the base of the plants are made with some of the rusty colored paint left over from the birch leaves.

The lavender blooms of the Irises are painted with various mixtures of Dioxazine Purple + White.

The dark centers are Dioxazine Purple + Liquin Original, while the Yellow Signals are made with Cadmium Yellow Medium.

I paint around the shapes of the Water Lilies with a variety of mixes of Ultramarine Blue + MUD + White and MUD + Cadmium Yellow Medium + White, to give the impression of the lake bottom glimmering through the shallow water.

I’ve combined several of the greens used throughout the painting to make the Oval Pads of the Water Lilies.

The blossoms are mixes of White + Ultramarine Blue, White + Ultramarine Blue + Cadmium Orange and White + Dioxazine Purple. The final step will be to drag a mix of Magenta + Liquin Original over the base of the petals. You can see the finished result in the next picture.

“THE LOONS ARE CALLING!” 16 inches x 20 inches

Can’t you just hear Claire and Clarence d’Loon calling, “It’s beautiful out today. Jump in the canoe and paddle out to join us on the lake!”

Thanks for visiting my online studio and following the journey of this painting. Please come back again. With Appreciative Hugs,

ALL SENKARIK IMAGES PROTECTED UNDER INTERNATIONAL COPYRIGHT LAW

© Senkarik 2024

www.senkarik.com

11 Responses to “The Loons are Calling”

  1. Teresa Madsen Says:

    Your emails always make me smile. I could have the worst day and your beautiful artwork lifts my spirits. This is a beautiful piece, I can’t wait to see more!

  2. Florence Says:

    Oh, so much to “see” in this painting. I just want to be sitting quietly nearby and looking everywhere at once. I hope Claire and Clarence appreciate their beautiful lake.

    • Mikki Senkarik Says:

      Thank you, Florence. I have a feeling Claire and Clarence did appreciate their beautiful home. They were there for several generations of Loon Families! HUGS, Mikki

  3. Diane Meyer Says:

    Your stunning paintings are always mesmerizingly beautiful and tranquil to view. This one is going to always be such a blessing for the owners to memorialize their years enjoying their house, special family times spent there, and their spectacular views of such gorgeous natural surroundings. You and your artistic talents, plus your understanding empathy, bring so much joy to your clients, as well as those of us who just watch your creations happening in your videos. 

    It is always such a relaxing pleasure to view your video, as I have followed you for many, many years. As a widow for 4 years now, I remember watching you when you were bravely navigating your profound grief after losing your soulmate, and love of your life. You have been an inspiration to me, as I try to find a new way forward again without my husband, my best friend and great love of 45 years in my life, too.

    Thank you for always sharing emotions with us and providing such comfort and inspiration to so many people, as well as sharing your artistic creations.

    Hoping that you enjoy a very blessed Easter.

    Diane

    • Mikki Senkarik Says:

      Dear, Dear Diane, My heart hurts for you as you journey through the Valley of the Shadow of Death. It definitely is a roller coaster ride, fortunately the deep drops into grief get further and further apart over the years.

      I so appreciate your kind and encouraging words. I’m thankful that my artwork and sharing my experiences has brought you some help and comfort.

      As Paul said in 2 Corinthians 1:4 “He who comforts us in all our affliction, so that we may be able to comfort those who are in any affliction, with the comfort with which we ourselves are comforted by God.”

      Have a blessed Easter too! HE IS RISEN! And because of Jesus’ sacrifice for our sins we know we will see those we love so much again in Heaven. I hug you with my Prayers, Mikki

  4. Lynanne Badger Says:

    I spent a lot of weeks in Minnesota staying at a friend’s family cabin in my youth. This really takes me back. Thank you for the lovely memories!

  5. GP Says:

    Outstanding!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.