Reconfiguration

The piece I’m working on today is based on “WINDOW TO THE SEA”, one of my originals in my Mother’s Day Special Collection. A few of the pieces are still available, just CLICK HERE to view them. Buffalo Games has published some of my paintings on their puzzles and liked the image above but it was too small (10 inches x 10 inches) and square. They wanted to see it expanded into a horizontal format. So, let’s get started!

This larger, horizontal format which is 24 inches x 30 inches, gives me more room for adding detail along the ocean. The basic plan is sketched on the canvas with a brush dipped in a thin oil wash of MUD (2 parts Ultramarine Blue + 1 part Alizarin Crimson).

Please keep in mind as you read through my post, you may click on any picture to see it larger.

As in the original piece, cheery Sunflowers fill a large ceramic pot at the base of the arched window.

Lavender spills out of a container nestled by the Sunflowers, attracting a couple of Hummingbirds!

A Cardinal perches on a branch of the Bougainvillea, keeping an eye on the zippy visitors sipping nectar from the flowers below.

Hollyhocks, as well as a wall container planted with Geraniums and Sweet Potato Vine, complete our sketch of the “Road Map” for the painting. Hope you’ll come back and follow the progress at my OnLine Studio!

To make it even easier, I’d like to invite you to subscribe to my blog. You’ll receive an email every time I publish a new post. CLICK THIS LINK and scroll to the upper right side of the page. You will see a heading EMAIL SUBSCRIPTIONS. Just click the button “Sign me up!”  It’s easy. Please keep in mind, to move through the blog when you get the posts, just CLICK on the small titles at the top of the page. The one on the right for the next post or the title on the left side for the previous session. I appreciate you subscribing to my blog!

AND, just in case you’re still looking for a Mother’s Day gift please check out my paintings priced specially for Gifting that special Mom in your life! Just CLICK HERE!

THANK YOU! With Colorful Smiles,

ALL SENKARIK IMAGES PROTECTED UNDER INTERNATIONAL COPYRIGHT LAW

© Senkarik 2024

www.senkarik.com

One Response to “Reconfiguration”

  1. Deanna Zanoni Says:

    Hi my dear Mikki, the picture arrived. Beautiful! Such memories of Venice. I haven’t hung it yet, but will send a picture when I do. Watching the Kentucky Derby this afternoon. Thank you ,thank you again. Love the picture. Much love. And tons of hugs. ❤️❤️❤️

    Deanna

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.