An Interesting Window

window-1-flipped

Isn’t this a cool window? I’m going to use it as the basis for a painting I’m starting today for Exposures Gallery; they represent my work in Sedona. 

sa0517-step-1

A quick drawing is scribbled on my sketch pad. Even though it’s pretty rough I’ve got my ideas down.

sa0517-step-2

After mulling over the sketch I decide to flip the image. In other words I’m going to have the window on the right side of the painting rather than the left as I indicated in the rough drawing. For some reason the composition feels more comfortable to me this way. I begin by drawing the building and steps in a thin oil wash made of MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + Liquin. MUD is a deep purple that’s the base color in many of our mixtures. If you’d like to know more about our Double Primary Color Mixing System that Jack developed CLICK HERE.

sa0517-step-3

I really like the unusual window sill. I’m simplifying the base just a little, a lot of it is going to be covered by flowers. 

sa0517-step-4

Everyone liked the kitties in my last commission so much that a couple decided to join us in this piece! Please remember, you may click on any of the pictures to see them larger.

sa0517-step-5

I’ve labeled the flowers so I don’t forget as I paint. Also changed the Bougainvillea to a Wisteria, the purple will look really nice with the red door. We’ll begin painting in our next session, hope you’ll come back. If you would like to receive an email every time I publish a new post please feel free to subscribe to my blog. CLICK THIS LINK and scroll to the upper right side of the page. You will see a heading EMAIL SUBSCRIPTIONS. Just enter your email address and click the button “Sign me up!”  It’s easy. And if you enjoy my blog please CLICK the FaceBook LIKE Button. As we say in Texas, “Much Obliged!

 

10 Responses to “An Interesting Window”

  1. Jeana Says:

    Love the window picture.

  2. Angelica Says:

    I really like the flip view of your window and the architectural detail under the window…looking forward to getting started painting. Thank you for the video you have been posting. It feels like we are peeking over your shoulder breathlessly awaiting your next brush stroke!

  3. bonnie austin Says:

    Love it! It reminds me of Italy and the wonderful little alleys and coves. And (as you know) I love the kitty as well. He makes it look finished.

  4. Mahsa Fadaei Says:

    Hello mikki I hope you had a great holiday. Mikki I wanted to ask you what colores it takes to paint of violin. Thanks a lot. Mahsa from Canada.

    • Mikki Senkarik Says:

      Hi Mahsa,
      If I were painting a violin I’d use some mahogany brown mixtures. They would be made of MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + A little Cadmium Red Light + Cadmium Orange + White. If this is too bright you could add a little Ultramarine Blue to the mixtures. Look at the door in “Serene Haven”, just click this link:
      Thank you for following my blog. HAPPY PAINTING! Mikki

  5. mahsa Says:

    Thank you so much my dear mikki.

  6. mahsa Says:

    But Mikki the link you sent me is sadly not there can you please send it again thank-you

  7. mahsa Says:

    Thank you so much mikki

Leave a Reply

